It’s All Good

WHAT A DIFFERENCE a day, and a little sunshine, make.

Since my whiny post of 24 hours ago, a slew of encouraging things have happened:

  • I discovered the source of the scary beeping. It was an OLD smoke detector I had found on top of the refrigerator the night before and tossed in the trash outside, never imagining the battery was still good and that rain (?) could set it off. When LIPA arrived (I called but was too late to stop them), I apologized and was told, “No problem – we’re on overtime.” LIPA’s rates are famously high.
  • The dumpster was removed from my driveway.
  • Marcello’s men came to tamp down the muddy mess in the driveway. They’re returning today to continue the battle against the forces of evil wisteria.

    $5 hanging basket

    $5 hanging basket

  • I went swimming at the gigantic, modern East Hampton Y, which is like the gym of a major midwestern university ($37/month!)
  • I bought two hanging baskets of annuals for the front deck for $5 each at a farmer’s market.IMG_0640
  • I discovered the Ladies’ Village Improvement Society (how Victorian is that?) thrift shop and bought a big magazine basket for $10, with promise of more to come.

    Rich pickin's at the LVIS

    Rich pickin's at the LVIS

  • I joined the East Hampton library and discovered they have an entire room of gardening books, including some of my favorites which are packed away in storage. I took out about 10 of them for inspiration and ideas as I make plans to organize the backyard into functional spaces.
  • The sun is out and the house is a temperate 66 degrees.
  • I had a good meal last night at the chic Laundry (restaurant, not laundromat) with my friend Jifat.
  • I’ve been invited to an art opening and a party but am hanging loose — not sure I want to tear myself away from the house and my long to-do list.

    My local beach (Maidstone) reminds me of the Greek Islands in its pristineness and serenity

    The pristineness and serenity of my local beach, Maidstone, reminds me of the (undiscovered) Greek Islands

5 thoughts on “It’s All Good

  1. Whew! Thought I might have come out there and rescue you from the cold, beeping muddy world of The Springs, but it sounds as if you have (as usual) come through the mud and muck to the sun and flowers!! Congrats on weathering another lowpoint – keep up the good spirits and focus!

  2. As George Harrision put it, all things must pass! Just had a wonderful day working in the garden side by side with Marcello’s guys to conquer (or at least subdue) the wisteria monster! Let’s see, that makes $1,200 on just the wisteria, but I think it’s done now, for the moment. Never, EVER, plant wisteria except on a sturdy arbor far from the nearest tree.

  3. These posts are making me yearn for my childhood growing up on the Eastern Shore. *sigh*

    I’m really enjoying hearing about all the things/places you’re discovering.

    $5.00 for hanging baskets? Fantastic!

  4. Discovered your blog through the Hooked on Fridays blog party. Looks like you’ve got quite a project in front of you! That is so true about what a difference a day and a little sunshine can make. Oh, how I would love to look around that Ladies Village Improvement Society. That looks like a good place to spend a few hours! Best wishes on the gardens and the house!

  5. Thanks, Joanie, and welcome. I saw that blue painted gate on your blog today and know that you will relate to my next post, “Cottages of Color” (I’m always thinking of that next post!)

Got something to say? Please say it!