My Wonderful, Beautiful, Not Bad, Very Good Day

IMG_0001

WHAT A SATURDAY I had. Just about perfect in every way.

  • Color is peaking in my own backyard, above.
  • Eric the Tree Man is almost done taking down the big dying oak in front, below. That, plus some huge limbs that overhung the house, and one that protruded unkemptly into the street, are gone. That’ll be it for major tree removal.
  • IMG_0005

  • I went to 4 yard sales; the number has shrunk since Labor Day. I got nothing at the first three. At the last, I scored a load of gardening books for 25 cents apiece, terracotta saucers for under flowerpots 3 for $1.00, a clear glass urn perfect for a pillar candle $3, and an unused mint green rag rug, about 4’x6′, for $2. Whoopee do. Nothing is going to touch my yard sale triumph of two weeks ago, but I can still get a thrill from a Le Creuset pot for $2 or wicker chairs for $5, below.
  • IMG_0011

  • My daughter painted the front door. Can’t get enough of that Sailor’s Sea Blue.
  • IMG_0007

  • I took a drive down exquisite Further Lane, below. There are parts of this area I haven’t yet discovered, and that’s intentional. I don’t want the sense of wonder to end, so I’m taking it slow. Further Lane is quintessential Hamptons. You can buy a lot of landscaping and, well, land — acres of meadow stretching down to the dunes — given enough millions. The houses are plenty big, but you wouldn’t call them McMansions; they’re too good. They’re mostly hidden behind magnificently sculpted hedges.
  • IMG_0022

  • I went stone-shopping at Southampton Masonry on Springs Fireplace Road, below, looking at cut bluestone for a walk around the house. My thinking: buy the stuff, have a palette or two delivered, and then, one by one, whenever I’m feeling strong or help is around, move the stones into place, laying them directly on the compacted, sandy soil. My hope/fantasy is that they’ll settle in perfectly from people walking on them, and I’ll never have to go through that monstrous excavation/crushed rock/gravel/edging process that probably wouldn’t yield the kind of informal look I want anyway.

IMG_0026

  • No trick or treaters came to my door. I laid in a stash of lollipops but, admittedly, did nothing to encourage them.

4 thoughts on “My Wonderful, Beautiful, Not Bad, Very Good Day

  1. Hi,
    I’m doing the same thing with stones. Getting some delivered and then place them around. The yard guys are good for helping with this sort of thing.

  2. Hi! I enjoy your blog – I too live in Brooklyn – yet my home is in the East End. I was working in the garden this weekend, planting daffodil bulbs and picked up a few inexpensive hydrangeas (70% off at Wrens) from the nursery in Amagansett.

    I noticed in your blog post today that you have a tree man! SavaTree quoted $4,500 to clean the dead branches from my trees (not that big a lot), yet i really only have a few hundred to get the major limbs taken care of… – would you recommend your tree trimmer?

    Thanks – and keep up the posts!

  3. Hope you tried to mill the oak into usable wood. That’s a nice straight trunk that could have gotten you some good board feet. New Jersey has a state wide program for such things. Toronto, San Francisco, Oakland have urban timber programs too. See this guy in NJ: http://www.citilogs.com

Got something to say? Please say it!