Last Look at San Miguel

IMG_0001

AS IF TO MAKE SURE I would leave San Miguel de Allende thoroughly in love with the place — as if to hammer home the point that it is spectacularly deserving of its perennial spot among the top few on Conde Nast Traveler‘s annual Best Cities award (#1 in 2013) — the sunset on my final night was a breath-taker.

As my friend and I rounded the corner where Calle Relox opens up to the Jardín on our way to my last SMA dinner, we both suddenly gasped and groped for our cameras.

The day had been balmy, and the cloud patterns produced the most dramatic sunset of my two-week stay. And they do know how to light those monuments.

IMG_0002IMG_0004IMG_0007IMG_0008

I had spent my last full day, finally restored to gastro-intestinal health, wandering the streets with no essential purpose but to absorb the atmosphere, have a last cup of coffee at Zenteno, a pleasant café where American boomers while away many an hour, grab a few final photos (such as that of David Kestenbaum’s brass bull in front of the cultural center known as Bellas Artes, below, which had become as much a symbol to me of SMA as the Parroquia) and pick up a few more gifts and souvenirs.

IMG_0009IMG_0010IMG_0011IMG_0013IMG_0015IMG_0019

A woman in Zenteno’s happened to mention an exhibition of antique Mexican blankets at Bellas Artes, below, so off we trotted to see it. It was illuminating to compare the geometric designs of the locally woven blankets one sees in the markets with their more intricate antecedents.

IMG_0020IMG_0021IMG_0022IMG_0023IMG_0024IMG_0025IMG_0014

Adios, San Miguel, but not forever.

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in TRAVEL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Last Look at San Miguel

  1. bjpeck2 says:

    My favorite San Miguel post! Love those rugs. And the pigeons!!

  2. Julia Mack says:

    So glad that you had a good time in SMA. Your photos are beautiful and so colorful. Many of the street corners and shops remind me of my two week vacation in Oaxaca.

Got something to say? Please say it!

