Monticello Yellow + Orange Options

Monticello+Yellow

I’VE NEVER BEEN TO MONTICELLO (note to self: go), but I knew Thomas Jefferson’s dining room was famously aqua (a color, in Colonial times, said to aid digestion). Recent research showed that the iconic blue dining room was later whitewashed for about a decade, and then painted an intense yellow in TJ’s last years.

Last June, the Polo Ralph Lauren Corporation stepped forward to sponsor the re-painting of the dining room, above, as part of an ongoing restoration of parts of the house. Now Monticello Yellow is available to all. I smugly observed that it’s close to the Benjamin Moore “Dalila” I picked for the living room in my new Brooklyn apartment — even more vibrant.

With confidence in my color sense boosted, I began searching “orange bedrooms,” as I’ve decided pink is not going to work for my bedroom or me at this time. The ones below are inspiring.

color-orange-bedroom
Interior Design Schools

handegan-orange3-bedroom-l

Southern Accents

Below, the master bedroom in a Brooklyn Heights townhouse belonging to interior designer Kathryn Scott. The color is Ralph Lauren’s Hot Orange, and I’m going to give it a try when I can get to a store that sells Ralph Lauren’s complete line (Home Depot no longer does).

kathryn-scott-NYSD_rect540

Along with Tangerine Dream, Pumpkin Patch, Sunbaked Orange….I’ll get it right yet.

7 thoughts on “Monticello Yellow + Orange Options

  1. have you considered farrow & ball “orangerie”? it’s such an incredible color and not too intense.

  2. Love orange in a home! I use in accents everywhere I can. I also did a small guest room in a deep, rich pumpkin orange and love it! Go for it..the first and the third orange images are my favs.

  3. i, too, have the same “monticello yellow” on my walls. it is a sherwin willimas color, but it is the same.

    when i lived in london the flat i rented had a bright orange bedroom. it was scrumptious. go for it.

Got something to say? Please say it!