For Sale in Springs: A Long Island House as Old as They Come

IMG_0001

THERE ARE VERY FEW truly old houses on the East End of Long Island, but those that do remain, like Mulford Farm in East Hampton, are among the oldest in the country, dating back to the earliest English settlers in the 17th century.

So it’s possible that this little house I’ve always admired, at a bend in Three Mile Harbor Road in Springs, about 4 miles north of the Village of East Hampton, is as old as the real-estate listing says. Though “1639” strains credulity a bit. As does the whole story that goes with it, per the multiple-listing sites:

This Property Situated On 2.3 Acres Has Amazing History. Built In 1639 Part Of The House Is Made From The Wood Of A Ship And Has The Original Wood Pegs Holding It Together. The Wood Is Numbered In The Event That The Ship Was Wrecked It Could Be Put Back Together. There Is An Operating Farm Stand On The Property. This Historical Home Is Truly One Of A Kind.

Yes, the property (240 Three Mile Harbor Road) was well-known for years as the site of the Pig Pen farmstand, with a battered pink pick-up truck serving as signage. The house’s red shutters and the farmstand’s pink truck have always been a cheering sight for me when, arriving after a long drive from the city, they herald my return to Springs.

The house always reminded me of England, sitting at the bottom of a rise, surrounded by a usually very green lawn.

The farmstand never opened this season, which was a great pity — we need all the farmstands we can get — and then a For Sale sign appeared on the property.

The four-room house on 2+ acres is priced at $1.869 million, with annual taxes of $5,500. What’s odd is that it went on the market in July at $1.2. The ask was raised considerably in September.

It would be nice if whoever buys it reinstates the farmstand, and I certainly hope they don’t tear the house down.

IMG_0007IMG_0002IMG_0003IMG_0006IMG_0005

Anyway, thanks to the real estate listings, we finally get to see the interior of the house, below. Now I believe that story about the ship’s planks.

getImagegetImage-1

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in HAMPTONS, HISTORIC PRESERVATION, LONG ISLAND, REAL ESTATE/INVESTING. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to For Sale in Springs: A Long Island House as Old as They Come

  1. Karen Zebulon says:

    Very interesting! A house like this one (minus the beautiful interior) if located in some parts of Maine (where I am from) would practically be given away. Location, location, location!

  2. Susie says:

    This house is so cute! Love the wood shingles and red shutters.

  3. Justine Cullinan says:

    Isn’t this the house Frannie Gardiner lived in? (I think I recall seeing her on the beach at Maidstone in the 1950s — she was quite singular: old and weathered and may have worn leather boots and [could it be?] ridden a horse) … At this point I don’t trust my memory as I once did.

  4. Priscilla Lynch says:

    I think the farm stand’s pig’s names were Elvis and Priscilla. This made for lots of laughs with my friend who lives down the road from there.

  5. cara says:

    I don’t know Justine – I only knew the two sisters who ran the farm stand, though I love your memory and hope she did ride a horse. One of the sisters died recently, which may be what precipitated putting the house on the market.

  6. Julia Mack says:

    I also really hope that the new owner does not tear the house down.

  7. Martha Kelly says:

    This house seems so significant historically it would be nice if the county or township or whatever could purchase and maintain it – possibly as an art gallery? local museum? But then, I suspect all possibilities like that have been considered. If the land sells and there’s a notion of tearing down the house I wonder if it could be moved to a preservation site. Old Bethpage? Obviously, I don’t know what I’m talking about…Anyhow, it was neat to see it.

  8. cara says:

    hi Martha, I suspect the EH Historical Society would be on the case if the building was that important.

Got something to say? Please say it!

