London: Slinging Thru Islington

img_0073

ARRIVING IN LONDON YESTERDAY MORNING for a late winter sojourn, I had none of the sense of disorientation and dislocation I normally do when landing in a foreign country after a semi-sleepless night on a plane.

No, I just got right into it, though I haven’t been in England in ten years and, despite at least that many visits, don’t know London well at all. Its intricate layers and ever-changing character seem to defy knowing.

I’m staying with a dear friend in De Beauvoir Town, a neighborhood in the northeast of the city, developed in the mid-19th century from farmland into row houses, much like my home borough of Brooklyn.

img_0053

From Heathrow I took the Tube to King’s Cross Station, above, and then a taxi to my destination, below. All smooth as clockwork. No sooner did I sit down in the back of the cab than the driver, noting my accent, said, “Well, shall we talk about the elephant in the room?” I was a little slow on the uptake (jet lag) and didn’t get it, until he added: “Your President!” Oh, him! I hadn’t thought about any of that in hours. The driver was smart and not a supporter, so the ride passed pleasantly.

img_0055

My theme for this visit: historic pubs. I plan to visit at least one a day. So far on schedule, though the two I’ve been to (the nearest at hand) are not particularly historic and not found in guidebooks. Both were incredibly welcoming, and I don’t know why Keith McNally, instead of continually reproducing old-school French brasseries, doesn’t bring us some upscale British pubs. Lunch today, at The Scolt Head, below, right around the corner, with two other old friends, was convivial and delicious.

img_0059img_0058img_0057

I had wild mushroom pie, but forgot to take a photo before tucking into it. The plate below belonged to another diner: your more traditional Sunday roast with Yorkshire pudding. The sides were the same: potatoes, red cabbage, carrots and peas. Scrumptious.

FullSizeRender.jpg

We’ve done two long walks: yesterday down to Regent’s Canal, below, where industrial buildings have been turned into residences and narrow working barges into colorful houseboats. A few casual cafés have even popped up along the towpath there.

img_0070img_0069img_0064img_0065

Today we did a circuit of what they call Georgian terraces in nearby Islington — that is, attached houses of the late 18th century to mid-19th century, uniform and understated, except for the occasional yellow or blue door. Some have carefully considered front gardens.

Islington has the feel of a village, organized around park-like squares. There’s little commerce, except for the occasional pub. It’s altogether genteel, a very fine address.

For the next three weeks, I’ll be exploring London, largely on foot. I hope you’ll come with me.

img_0077img_0075img_0083img_0074img_0078img_0081img_0060img_0079img_0082img_0085img_0080img_0071

Spring is farther along here. Daffodils, forsythia, early magnolias about to pop. The mimosa, above, already in full flower.

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in LONDON, TRAVEL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to London: Slinging Thru Islington

  1. Staci says:

    Nice photos! We had a good English Breakfast at Cafe Oz in Islington this last summer.

  2. Stacie R Sinder says:

    I’ll come with you! So far, I’m enjoying the stroll. And I laughed at your story about the elephant in the room. Love the photos and happy to see that mimosas are blooming somewhere

  3. Jeff Sidney says:

    Great stuff Cara, I look forward to following your trip

  4. Hi, Cara! I used to live in Highbury, Islington

    Sarah F. Parsons Gow

    Sarahfparsons@gmail.com Sarah@warrenlewis.com

    Tel 917 748 8067

    http://Www.warrenlewis.com

    Please follow me on Instagram and Twitter: sarahfparsons

    >

  5. melanie charnas says:

    Wonderful post! I enjoyed it, as always.

  6. Well aren’t you the jet setter. Have a great time. 💋💋💋

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  7. Martha Kelly says:

    You picked a good time to leave – it’s FREEZING in Brooklyn. All that almost-spring greenery is making me jealous. Your pictures are lovely, as usual. I particularly like the bright yellow door reflected in the puddles.

  8. Marianne Davies says:

    Love your pictures and look forward to following your trip.

  9. coppermaven says:

    You sure started out running! Looking forward to your day by day…

  10. Harriet says:

    Three weeks. Oh good, I need a long vacation.

  11. Julia Mack says:

    While in London a few years back, I stayed in a little house in Hampstead Heath and found it charming. If you have time in your schedule, a visit there would be quite a lovely way to spend a half day or so.

  12. Rick Gerwitz says:

    i love your
    pics!!! i am travelling vicariously thru them. Would LOVE your take on Brompton Cemetery!!
    ?

  13. Cate Corcoran says:

    What wonderful photos and story. The Scolt Head is looking very Brooklyn chic — or is it the other way ’round?

  14. cara says:

    Great to hear from you all, friends. It keeps me observant, knowing you’re with me XOXO
    P.S. Would that we had such a place as The Scolt Head in Brooklyn – we’d be there all the time!

  15. Theleens says:

    My old stomping ground and it’s looking lovely from 3500 miles away. Wonderful article and pics.

Got something to say? Please say it!

