Say Hi to NYC’s Second Avenue Subway

img_0001

ON NEW YEAR’S DAY, New York City opened its first new subway line in over half a century — well, three new stops, anyway. The far Upper East Side, once a pain to get to, is newly accessible via these three stops along Second Avenue at 72nd Street, 86th Street and 96th Street (it’s the yellow”Q” line on the map below).

image

It’s visible proof of how transportation can bring new life to a neighborhood that for the better part of a decade was, to my mind, a place to avoid — inconvenient, boring and ugly.

But absent the scaffolding and the sawhorses and the orange cones and the big holes in the ground, Second Avenue looks fresh and optimistic, chock-a-block with old and new bars and restaurants to serve the densely populated high-rises that line the avenue.

Three times recently, I found myself on the Second Avenue subway. The trip from mid-Brooklyn to the UES now takes just under 30 minutes.

I met a friend for brunch at Jacques Brasserie on East 85th, an old favorite, and discovered a cozy hole-in-the-wall pub that I happened to stumble upon coming out of a doctor’s office — Jones Wood Foundry on East 76th.

fullsizerender-4

The architecture of the stations, while impressively scaled, is unexciting, but the art in the three stations makes up for it. The MTA calls it “the most expansive permanent public art installation in New York City history.”

At 72d Street, full-body portraits of colorful, eccentric New Yorkers, rendered in mosaic tile by Brazilian born artist Vik Muniz, are imbedded in the white wall tile along the concourse, like so many fellow passengers.

img_0014img_0015img_0016img_0017img_0018img_0019img_0020

At 86th, there are overscaled photo-based portraits in mosaic or ceramic tile, some of famous musicians and artists (Lou Reed, Kara Walker, Philip Glass). They’re the work of Chuck Close (who also included a couple of self-portraits), and they are mesmerizing, both from up close and far away.

img_0002img_0003img_0004img_0005img_0007img_0006

Abstract murals of porcelain tile by Sarah Sze wrap the interior of the 96th Street station, into which we’ll descend below (yes, I visited all three stations just to see them).

img_0008img_0009img_0010img_0011img_0012img_0013img_0021img_0022

I’m glad I didn’t have to live through the protracted construction, but now that it’s done, I have to say: well done, MTA.

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in MANHATTAN, TRAVEL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Say Hi to NYC’s Second Avenue Subway

  1. This is the best article on the new subway that I have read! Gives you a real idea of what it is all about! Thanks!

  2. csmyers says:

    Thank you!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Martha Kelly says:

    My first apartment in New York was on First Avenue between 89th and 90th. It was REALLY CHEAP because it was so hard to get to transportation – uphill all the way from First to Lex.. Hooray for the new Second Avenue Subway! Based on Cara’s wonderful photos, I feel the need to travel the new subway route as a tourist in an art gallery.

  4. Justine Cullinan says:

    You’ve outdone yourself with this splendid gallery of the art in the subway. My daughter had tears of joy riding this on her last week working at the Met — she was moved, as we all are, to see something achieved by the public for the public, which is, of course what native New Yorkers have benefitted from their entire lives. Others come and curate what has been civically vouchsafed them, while yet a few others simply regard it as a place of transit or profit. Since I’m not steady on my pins anymore, I’m not sure whether I’ll ever get to see these subway interiors and so this has been a feast for my eyes and spirit. I’m eating my heart out! but glad it is here for my grandchildren.

Got something to say? Please say it!

