Sag Harbor After the Rain

IMG_0001

I’VE STARTED SPENDING TIME “OUT EAST” AGAIN. Though I can’t stay in my own un-winterized bungalow just yet, I’ve been able to bunk nearby and do a bit of garden clean-up on my half-acre property, and begin to catch up with friends I haven’t seen since last fall.

This past week was mostly sunny, but there was one all-day deluge. One evening I found myself in the back streets of Sag Harbor after the rains had let up, with a little time to spend before meeting a friend at the bar at Baron’s Cove, a new and very pleasant hang-out I’ve discovered (fireplace, great cocktails, nice happy hour menu).

Here’s some of what I saw in a 15-minute stroll: the delightful cottage, top, landscaped almost entirely with hinoki cypress; a Victorian farmhouse backlit by the clearing sky; cloud-reflecting puddles; and vistas of low-key properties that don’t scream Hamptons, but merely whisper spring in the country.

IMG_0003IMG_0004IMG_0005IMG_0006IMG_0008

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in HAMPTONS, LONG ISLAND and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sag Harbor After the Rain

  1. Cate says:

    Beautiful photos. Cara, in the photo with the daffodils, do you know what is that straw-colored plant that has been cut back? Thank you!

  2. cara says:

    It’s an ornamental grass – miscanthus I think. Freshly cut back to start growing again!

  3. Marianne says:

    Beautiful! I am with you , i enjoy these homea much more!!

  4. Cate says:

    Thanks, Cara! Maybe I had better start cutting mine back. I saw a photo of a northern garden in which this was interspersed with rocks and purple crocus (in the early spring of course). Very striking.

Got something to say? Please say it!

