June in the City

IMG_8191

THE TWO POLES OF MY EXISTENCE are the immensity of nature that is the East End of Long Island and the intensity of humanity that is New York City. Which do I prefer? There’s no contest; it’s the former.

But with a couple of hours to kill in Midtown recently, while waiting to join a friend for Skylight on Broadway, I found much in the West 30s and 40s to command my attention.

IMG_8196IMG_8197IMG_8199IMG_8218IMG_8213IMG_8234 IMG_8225IMG_8232

Emerging into Times Square after the performance, the visual stimulation was an assault. There’s something undeniably exciting about it, I admit, but… get me back to the country ASAP.

IMG_8236

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in ARCHITECTURE, MANHATTAN. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to June in the City

  1. Justine Cullinan says:

    Your comments about the enervation at “behearing” Times Square these nights reminded me of G.K. Chesterton’s famous remark when he beheld Times Square at night many decades ago: What a garden of delights this would be to a person who couldn’t read. The assault then was visual, but when the audio ratcheted up to what it is now …ai, ai, ai!

  2. Justine Cullinan says:

    Oops, this is what I get for inattentive reading and projecting my own dislikes: you found it a visual assault and so, indeed, it is …

  3. literarybrooklyn says:

    I’ve been a city girl all my life, but I’ve come to the point where I totally agree with you. Loving the “immensity of nature” out here and finding forays into the city feel almost like an assault by comparison. Great shots of the theater district and the Golden, though. Beautiful shots of that LI estate as well. The East End is looking better and better to me after my experiment with FR.

    Looking forward to seeing the post about the guest quarters. Your place out there is really shaping up.

Got something to say? Please say it!

