Milan: Up Among the Gargoyles

IMG_0009

BY MY THIRD DAY IN MILAN, I started to feel like I was trapped in a giant shopping mall. Each name brand designer has half a dozen stores here, and every American chain is represented. Tonight, my last in the city, I walked up Corso Vittorio Emanuele, one of many major shopping streets, and have to concede that even New York doesn’t have that concentration of stores anywhere. It’s store upon store, along the side streets too, as far as the eye can see. This is Italy’s fashion, design and finance capital, and the spending prowess is here. I climbed to the roof of the Duomo today — an unmissable experience — and was surprised not to find a Dolce & Gabbana billboard up there.

My genteel hotel, Gran Duca di York, while tucked away in a quiet back street, is a few minutes’ walk to Piazza del Duomo, top, with all its hawkers, buskers, street artists, shoppers, students, tourists, locals. (I think I finally figured out what the latest street vendors’ product, a three-foot-long long metal stick which holds an iPhone or camera on the end, is for: taking better selfies.)

Starting May 1 and continuing through the summer, there’s going to be a World’s Fair here, Expo MilanoSo there are street repairs and construction going on everywhere, adding to the chaos.

IMG_0008IMG_0001

Above: The entrance to the Galleria, the Victorian-era shopping mall, is currently enshrouded in scaffolding and wrapped in a billboard.

As an antidote, I needed some culture. I paid a visit to the Museo del Novecentro (Museum of the 20th Century), below, opened in 2010, and loved it. The five-story museum’s architecture is outstanding, its ramps, escalators, and glass walls always visually connected to the historical surroundings. Almost exclusively Italian works are presented in order of their execution, from Futurist painting and sculpture of the ‘teens and ’20s through conceptual installations of more recent decades, like rooms empty of anything but moving laser beams.

IMG_0002IMG_0019IMG_0003IMG_0004IMG_0005IMG_0006

The climb to the top of the Duomo was the equivalent of nine floors, according to my iPhone’s pedometer, via a narrow twisting stair. (There’s also a lift.) Emerging onto the roof, face to face with all that intricately carved marble, you marvel at the fact that it took only 500 years to put together. The view is astounding in all directions.

IMG_0011IMG_0013IMG_0012IMG_0010

From the top I spotted Torre Velasca, below, the 1958 skyscraper whose top floors are cantilevered over the rest, an idea never to be repeated. It remains a unique symbol of venturesome  Milanese design. I later walked underneath it in my quest for lunch.

IMG_0015

I walked and walked, taking in more of the city, including the area around University Statale, below, full of bookstores, cafes, motorcycles, and of course, high-spirited students.

IMG_0018

My eventual lunch spot, Cantina Piemontese, below, in the same location on via Laghetto since 1908, is a find — I loved the ambience and the food (that’s my starter, artichoke hearts with bufala mozzarella). All that bread’s for me?! (They charge for it, and I keep forgetting to tell them not to bring it.) As usual, I was early, but the place soon filled up with well-tailored businessmen and ladies who lunch. All locals; I was the only non-Italian-speaker within earshot.

IMG_0016IMG_0017

I walked and walked and walked some more. Since my first evening in town, when I was afraid I wouldn’t find my hotel, I’ve been comfortable walking around the city after dark. There are people everywhere.

IMG_0014IMG_0007 IMG_0021IMG_0023         IMG_0022

Milan is a complex, exhilarating place. It’s stressful to navigate, in the same way midtown Manhattan would be for a newcomer. But I’m not opposed to spending more time here at some point, particularly as it is often the least expensive European city to fly in and out of. After three days and four nights, I know I only scratched the surface.

 

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in ITALY, TRAVEL and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Milan: Up Among the Gargoyles

  1. Debrr says:

    They charge for the bread and water even if you ask them not to bring it.

  2. Astor C says:

    It looks like the spires atop the Duomo are not topped with Saints but Roman and Greek philosophers and generals, probably reflecting changing political tastes over the five hundred years of its construction. But with all its wonderful architecture, style and design Milan is certainly fascinated by American things. I remember rounding a corner onto a narrow street that opened I believe onto La Scala, with all these charming shops and restaurants to both sides. And there was parked a Chevy Camero, completely out of scale and probably impossible to navigate through the narrow alleys. And it was surrounded by locals oooing and ahhhing…

  3. literarybrooklyn says:

    My wasband (as you would say) used to call Milan, where he spent nearly a year at one point, “Newark with monuments.” But then, he also hated Paris, where he claimed dog poop was everywhere (I cleaned up the language on that one). Both good reasons, in his mind, for staying in at the hotel, ordering room service, and watching CNN. So now you know another reason why I am so delighted to take this trip with you, rather than with him. As I suspected, his judgement was not the best. Once again, the photos make your followers feel like we are there, and the food you found looks divine. You go girl!

  4. Joy Makon says:

    That’s a “selfie stick” you’re describing. I’m loving living vicariously through your trip, and thank you for posting all of this. It’s wonderful!

  5. cara says:

    Joy, would you believe I’d never seen a selfie stick before Milan’s Piazza del Duomo? Glad you enjoyed your vicarious travels, and thank you for letting me know. I just found your week-old comment and posted it, though I’m back in Brooklyn now:-(

Got something to say? Please say it!

