Nice in the Sun

IMG_6589

THE SUN CAME OUT on my last full day in Nice, and so did the people. On the streets, in the cafés, on the beach, even, in full-on sunbathing mode — it’s as if a switch was thrown somewhere that changed a sleepy city into a lively one.

IMG_6595

I wasn’t languishing in cafés or on the beach, of course. There was too much I wanted to do. This morning I headed to the Vieux Ville (Old City) again, because I hadn’t really had time to grasp its extent on my Monday visit to the antiques market.

IMG_6544

Today, Wednesday, the flower market was in full swing, above, in the same space, Cours Saleya, as it is several days a week (Saturday is the largest of them, I’m told; on this day, there were about twenty vendors). There were blooms that are hard to come by in New York, at least in the quantity and range of colors found here: mimosa, freesia, anemones. All well-priced, seemed to me.

IMG_6574

Then I let myself get a little lost in the back streets, where they really do hang laundry out to dry from the windows of 500-year-old dwellings.

IMG_6550

Nice was part of Italy until the mid 19th century, and that became apparent to me as I looked into beautiful churches and visited a small gem of a historic house, Palais Lascaris, below. It’s a wide, yellow-painted townhouse on Rue Droite, one of the narrow streets of the old town, a nearly intact example of how a noble urban family lived in the 17th century.

IMG_6554IMG_6571

The vaulted ceilings and frescoes of the central stairwell and the elaborate plasterwork throughout are incredible enough, but even more striking are the painted ceilings, done in the late 1600s by artists of the Genovese school.

IMG_6557IMG_6566IMG_6561IMG_6558

There are furnishings and tapestries of the 17th and 18th centuries, and an important collection of 500 antique musical instruments, above.

IMG_6573

I climbed steep flights of steps in the Vieux Ville and emerged eventually on Place Garibaldi, the city’s oldest square, below. Built in 1773, it’s ringed with yellow-painted arcaded buildings, whose startlingly uniform window moldings turn out to be, on close inspection, trompe l’oeil (and they really do).

IMG_6492

Below, in the Café Turin, a venerable seafood place on Place Garibaldi.

IMG_6576

I forged on, determined to try socca, the thin chickpea pancake that’s a Nicoise specialty. I arrived at Chez Pipobelow, before the place even opened, at about 11:30, so I got to watch the first batch of the day being made. The chick pea flour is pressed into a big round pan and put into an open wood-burning oven, then turned constantly with a long metal tool until it’s done. It’s served in hot slices. Was it good? Yes. Was it worth walking halfway across town for? Well… yes, for the experience.

IMG_6578IMG_6582

And what a day for a walk. My socca search had taken me into the old port area, and as I looked back at the distinguished red and yellow buildings encircling the port, below, an unoriginal thought occurred to me: “This is really a beautiful city.”

IMG_6587

The only thing remarkable about that thought is that I hadn’t had it in the prior three days of gray rainy weather. To revel in itself, Nice needs sun.

IMG_6609

By 2 o’clock, I had walked more than five miles and was exhausted. I went back to my hotel, Villa Victoria, where I’ve been exceptionally comfortable for three nights, to recoup. But at 3PM, I popped up again: I wanted to get to the Musée Matisse, above, in the Cimiez district, a neighborhood of immensely grand apartment buildings perched in the hills above Nice’s downtown. A public bus would take me there, but the stop was several long blocks away, and I decided to splurge on a taxi.

IMG_6614

Twenty minutes and twenty euros later, I was in yet another Genovese-school 17th century villa, next-door to the deteriorated but evocative remains of a Roman arena, above (in which locals were playing petanque), where Matisse spent the last three decades of his life.

IMG_6604IMG_6606

I’d seen the big Matisse paper cut-out show in New York in January and thought perhaps I was Matisse’d out, but this was a different view of his work. Far from comprehensive and lacking many of the great paintings, which are in other museums worldwide, it is a more intimate side of Matisse, spanning his career from his youthful efforts of the 1890s, when he copied classical works, to bronze figural sculptures I’d never seen, to sketches that reminded me how Matisse was the master of expressing gesture and feeling with just a few lines.

My farewell-to-Nice dinner was with new friends at Voyageur Nissart, a low-key place near the train station frequented by locals and tourists alike, and known for its Nicoise specialties like my red mullet with eggplant and tomato, below.

IMG_6622

Onward, now, to Menton, on the Italian border, for a night or two, and then into Italy itself. Must brush up on some new vocabulary.

IMG_6593

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in FRANCE, TRAVEL and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Nice in the Sun

  1. Joe Kunkel says:

    What an incredible trip you’re having! Great for you! I’m exhausted just thinking about all that walking and touring and blogging. You’re inspiring me!

  2. cara says:

    Hi Joe, good to hear from you :-) I’m pretty exhausted myself! Heading to Menton today and maybe will relax at the beach for a bit. But there’s also a garden I want to see…

  3. FH says:

    Those pancakes remind me of the panelle specials at Fernando’s on Union Street on the other side of the BBQ. I wonder if they made their way to Sicily before being transported to Brooklyn? Looking forward to hearing about Milan!

  4. Mary says:

    I love following your trip and found myself routing for you to get to see the sun in Nice, one of my favorite cities. Can’t wait for your take on Menton, a place I have not visited,but have wondered about.

  5. cara says:

    Don’t know about panelle. They tasted something like matzoh brei, actually, kind of dry. They could do with a little sour cream or jam!

  6. cara says:

    Hi, Mary, welcome — and thank you for letting me know you’re enjoying my reports from the travel front. I just arrived in Menton and you can be sure I will fill you in. First impression is that it is very resort-y, which is a change from Nice, which is essentially a workaday city. Stay tuned.

  7. Jonathan says:

    Cocteau house! Antibes. It’s an amazing experience. The tour is in French, but easy to understand if you have a little knowledge of the language. You need to call to book. Cocteau stayed there when he was recovering from his break-up with Jean Marais. He painted on the walls after Picasso suggested he do it. Wonderful!

  8. Jonathan says:

    Re: Cocteau – the tour is a very small group. When we went it was 6 people, including us.

  9. Stacie Sinder says:

    Nice is nice rain or shine as seen through your eyes (but I’m happy you got to see the sun :-) Funny thing, I had socca this week too – at restaurant Nizza in the theatre district. It seems your stay in Nice was memorable, despite the weather — those sweet pastel buildings really help lighten the mood. How did your French language skills do for you? Sunny days and happy travels ahead … Xox

  10. ada says:

    I think I am running out of superlatives to describe your posts and pictures. So I am reduced to simply saying that Nice is nice!

  11. cara says:

    Jonathan, Antibes will have to wait for another time. I am heading in the opposite direction. There’s a Cocteau museum in Menton, where I am at the moment, and some of his wall paintings in the town hall, which I will check out. Thanks for the info though.

  12. cara says:

    S, knowing even basic French makes things easier, like making sure the train I am getting on is going where I want to go. I’ve even had a few conversations all in French (as opposed to the other party replying in English as soon as they hear my accent). I’ve only been here a week or so but it already feels a little more flowing. Now of course I’m moving on to Italy where I know about a dozen words total.

  13. Lula says:

    Nice in the sun may be my favorite posting so far. What gorgeousness… c’est la vie!

Got something to say? Please say it!

