Spring is Sprung


A SWITCH has been thrown somewhere — “Garden ON” — and spring is busting out all over. Everyone with a Facebook page has been deliriously posting pictures of daffodils and magnolia blossoms, but indulge me a few, if you will. These, taken about 10 days ago at the Brooklyn Botanic Garden, already seem a moment that has passed. Things are farther along now. To me (not being a bee), that’s the chief meaning and purpose of flowers: a reminder of how beautiful, and heartbreakingly ephemeral, it all is. And by “it,” I mean life.


IMG_2845On a lighter note, how funny is this sign, spotted in front of a Flatbush Avenue dive bar? “Spring is the time of plans and projects,” a quote from none other than Tolstoy, with whom I heartily concur — and also $4 drafts!

An odd thing happened with the onset of April, which always feels like real New Year’s to me. Two days ago, I signed a contract of sale on my cottage in East Hampton, the renovation and landscaping of which has been a recurring subject on this five-year-old blog. It was an emotional roller coaster to the end, with yet another near-deal falling through and a decisive buyer stepping up just last week. We’ll close on or before May 15. That is a great relief, of course — the house was officially on the market only six months, but it had begun to feel like forever.


But that’s not the odd thing. The odd thing is, now that the real-estate paralysis has lifted, I feel like blogging again. I have a backlog of drafts and posts to write. Fair warning! Meanwhile, consider the flowers.


About cara

I blog for fun at https://casacara.wordpress.com, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in BROOKLYN, GARDENS & GARDENING. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Spring is Sprung

  1. Anonymous says:

    Congrats on the sale…phew….looking forward to your wonderful blogs

  2. Wendy says:

    Congratulations on the sale. I know that’s a load off your mind.

    Here’s a favorite sign I passed a few years ago in the window at EMS, advertising a sale on winter camping gear: “Now is the discount of our winter tents.” That’s some of the best copy writing I’ve seen!

  3. Congratulations on the sale of your cottage in Springs–bittersweet I
    know. Bring on all that blogging that’s been pent up. Always enjoy
    your writing and your photos!

  4. Julia Mack says:

    Congrat — so happy for you!!

  5. Yes, I really enjoyed this blog even before I met you, Cara. Let the blogging begin (again)! Wonderful news about the contract. Your buyers got a great deal. You’ve done so much, they will be able to enjoy the place this summer without all the headaches that come with, say, putting in a new bathroom. That and more, done!

  6. mud4fun says:

    Lovely pictures (and flowers) and I’m glad to hear that you will be posting more often. I enjoy reading your blog even though I’m in the UK where the housing market and houses are very different. Your blog is inspirational :-)

  7. Roman Blazic says:

    The first blossoms in Fishtown, Philadelphia PA: http://romanblazicwordsandpictures.blogspot.com/

    On Fri, Apr 18, 2014 at 3:12 PM, c a s a C A R A ~ OLD HOUSES FOR FUN &

  8. cara says:

    Thanks, everyone, for the congratulations, and thanks, Roman, for the photos. Always enjoy a vicarious visit to Philadelphia. Rosemary, “bittersweet” is the word I myself have been using to describe the mixed feelings I have about leaving this house. And though I would love to keep my promise to blog with greater regularity, I forgot about two stumbling blocks: my camera is broken, and I do not have Internet in the house… but I’ll do the best I can.

  9. mud4fun says:

    Cara, haven’t you got a camera on your mobile phone? I’ve not used a digital camera in nearly a year as all the pictures (and even videos) on my blog have been taken using the phones camera. It saves carting around two bits of tech wherever you go. The phone cameras are improving all the time and my relatively new Nokia 920 takes decent enough pictures for what I need. I can even respond to comments and write basic posts on the too using the wordpress mobile app although doing longer posts and adding pictures is still best done on the PC but at least with a mobile data connection I can still keep in touch with my blog when I’m away from home on business trips. Regards, Ian.

  10. cara says:

    hi Mud (or should I call you Ian?), thanks for the encouragement to use my phone as a camera. I have an iPhone 4S and the camera is just OK (my latest blog post, “Last Suppers,” has several pictures taken with it). I’m grateful for it in a pinch, but I find the photos are only really great when the light is very strong, as in the photos I took in Lanzarote — I did a series of posts from there with the iPhone camera, as my “real” camera was stolen out of my luggage en route. But for interiors and indoor stuff, it’s mediocre. I hear the 5S camera is better. I won’t give up Apple, sorry. I have an iPad too, to which I’m devoted. In fact, I ONLY use my laptop now for blogging.

  11. mud4fun says:

    LOL, I have several friends who were die-hard apple fans but have since been converted after having a play with my Nokia windows phone. To be honest the phone and its OS are OK, no better or worse than an iPhone BUT the Nokia cameras are far superior to the Apple devices most expecially in low light situations. Because I have to take most of my technical blog pictures either in the workshop or under the vehicle in limited light situations I need a camera with good low light capability and the iPhone is very poor at that. Also here in the UK it is dark, dull or raining for 99% of the year so a camera that only works in bright sunlight is not much use ;-)

    The Nokia is also half the price of the iPhone on a monthly contract…….

Got something to say? Please say it!

