Garden Voyeur: Ingenuity in Sag Harbor

IMG_3746

DRIVING THROUGH THE HISTORIC VILLAGE of Sag Harbor, Long Island, recently, the creative landscaping on a smallish corner lot grabbed my attention. I parked the car and popped out to get a closer look at the curved metal planting beds, below, made of what look like galvanized feed troughs. I didn’t even have to trespass; I took these iPhone shots standing on the sidewalk.

IMG_3749

IMG_3750

IMG_3736

Among the plants I recognized in this well-designed front yard: oakleaf hydrangea (in bloom in the background), abelia ‘Frances Mason’ (a type of honeysuckle, which I happen to know because we had it in Brooklyn years ago), various hollies and miscanthus

IMG_3733

a kousa dogwood

IMG_3737

marvelous smokebush

IMG_3738

IMG_3739

Japanese blood grass

IMG_3747

IMG_3734

IMG_3730

and a spectacular river birch with peeling bark, growing out of a bed of liriope. I so want a river birch!

The brown-painted house, top, is pretty unusual too, partially screened by horizontal wood slats that shield the windows from passersby, but let light in. It has a sort of Japanese feel, as does the garden itself, in its generous use of gravel and overall simplicity. A fine example, I think, of what can be done in small space with a well-honed design sense and a heap of imagination.

IMG_3731

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in GARDENS & GARDENING, HAMPTONS, LANDSCAPING, LONG ISLAND and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Garden Voyeur: Ingenuity in Sag Harbor

  1. Kim Smith says:

    Hello Cara,

    The photos are a bit grainy and I may be mistaken however, I think the tree you are identifying as a Kousa Dogwood in the above photo is a Stewartia psuedocamellia. Was the bark a lovely mottled color? The seed heads and flower shape make me think it is a Stewartia, which in our region (coastal eastern Massachusetts) is just finishing its blooming period, as is your tree above.

    Kind regards,
    Kim Smith

  2. cara says:

    Hi Kim, welcome. Don’t remember the bark, I’m afraid, but you are probably quite right. I play it kind of fast and loose with my plant identifications ;-) Thanks for trying to straighten things out.

  3. Stephanie Reit says:

    You’re alive!!!! Haven’t seen a post in a while. Hope you’ve been well. I spent a week in New Hampshire hiking and kayaking ( thought of you). Now in CT with friends til tomorrow. Then back to NY for more revamping of my second bedroom and bath.

    As you probably know, it was quite unbearable in NY last week. Hope that spell is over. I spent most of the time in my AC apartment hoping that ConEd could maintain the grid. Would love to hear more about your project, and how you are doing.

    xxooS.

  4. mud4fun says:

    Lovely house and garden.

  5. Jenny M says:

    A wonderful garden, someone has put a lot of thought into the design, as the garden & house create harmony together.

  6. Eileen says:

    This is one of my favorite properties in Sag Harbor!
    Thanks for identifying some of the plantings. I was hoping to use oak leaf hydrangeas, but I’m afraid the deer will devour them. Definitely adding japanese blood grass to my list.
    Love the horizontal wood slats also.

  7. cara says:

    You’re right about the deer and the oakleaf hydrangea, Eileen – sadly. It is such a fabulous plant, beautiful in all seasons. The leaves turn maroon in fall, and the panicles (I think that’s what those huge blooms are called) last for months.

Got something to say? Please say it!

