The Insider: Creative Layout in Bed-Stuy

SUPER BROWNSTONE in my column today on Brownstoner: an 1892 house in Bedford-Stuyvesant, dripping with original woodwork and renovated in a somewhat quirky way. The master bedroom has pride of place in the front parlor; the living room is relegated to downstairs. One result: a fabulous master bedroom! Furnishings are modern and spare, which nicely sets off all the Victorian detail.

Go here to read all about it.

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in BROWNSTONE DECORATING, THE INSIDER - BROWNSTONER.COM and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Insider: Creative Layout in Bed-Stuy

  1. sarah parsons says:

    hmmm, wel done. I agree. very narrow? And where in BEd-Stuy? Close to Clinton Hill? Or Stuyvesant Heights? have to read it more closely….Lovely p[hotos..

  2. cara says:

    18′ wide, just outside the Stuy Hts Historic District.

  3. Hey Cara, I’ve been seeing these photos all over the web without any credit to you (to the photographer, yes). Was this feature (and the photos) exclusive to Brownstowner? I ask because, I’ve seen it on Apartment Therapy and in a few other places AFTER you posted. :-/

  4. cara says:

    Hi Melissa, thanks for the alert. i’m not too bothered. They’re not my photographs, though they are my words. Still, the Internet is all about sharing, so I hear, and there’s not much I can do about it.

  5. Folks have to give credit!

  6. cara says:

    Send me the links and I’ll check them out, thanks.

Got something to say? Please say it!

