PARIS DAY 5: Giverny!

YESTERDAY I TICKED OFF an item that has long been on my bucket list: Monet’s heavenly garden at Giverny, in the countryside 50 miles from Paris. It was a day of more oohs and aahs than actual verbalization, so overwhelmed was I as my cousin Susan and I traipsed around Monet’s 2-1/2 acres of flowers, including his famous water lily pond.

It’s the season of roses and poppies, but many other things as well — lupines and ladies mantle, foxgloves and verbena, in beds separated by gravel paths, tumbling over each other in profusion.

The garden is kept as Monet had it, and the utterly charming house (where photos are not permitted) as well. There, the rooms are mostly blue or yellow, with wooden furniture casually painted to match the walls. There’s blue and green pottery, mismatched Oriental rugs on tile floors, and lots of rattan and bamboo. I could move right in.

Word to the wise: go anytime other than a Sunday in June. We faced crowds on the train from Gare St. Lazare in Paris to Vernon, 4km from Giverny; then on the bus from the station to Monet’s house and garden; stood on line for nearly an hour to enter; and had to thread our way among other people taking pictures during the course of our visit.

Still, I would not have missed it for the world.

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in PARIS, TRAVEL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to PARIS DAY 5: Giverny!

  1. Jenny M says:

    Stunning! Some things are worth the wait! Thank you for sharing your beautiful photos.

  2. Looks like heaven on earth, you lucky thing!!! I settled for Monet’s Garden at NYBG!

  3. Stephanie says:

    Thanks for reminding me of my visit to Giverny many years ago. It was the highlight of a trip to Paris which I took with my mother. When I saw your photo of the rose arbors, It all came flooding back. June is such a glorious time to be there.

  4. Anonymous says:

    your photographs remind me of some paintings i once saw. hmmmm. anyway, i’m enjoying your reports. i can almost taste the butter.

  5. Barbara says:

    So lucky you got to see the poppies and lupines in bloom!

  6. I was there on a hot day in late May. Tip to circumvent the long line for tickets. Purchase on line. We did it while we were in the long line and they accepted the cell phone receipt at the entrance for ticket holders.

  7. gap916 says:

    Oh, that is magnificent. Who knew poppies came in all those colors? (I didn’t.) Makes what I have accomplished here look pretty paltry by comparison. What a fabulous trip you are having.

  8. Donna says:

    WOW, amazing photos, brought back all the visions and memories of being there, I wanna go again, think i could go a million times and still love it, went in June and luckily it wasn’t a Sunday, thanks

  9. Irvina says:

    Wow. When I visited Giverny, it was on Bastille Day and there were no buses and it was hard to find a taxi from the station. In those days, the gardens were not yet redone to the way Monet had them, but the blue and yellow kitchen set my color scheme for life. I must return.

Got something to say? Please say it!

