Blue Christmas

HANUKKAH’S WELL AND GOOD, but it was a bit of a blue Christmas in casaCARA-land. As a non-celebrator, Christmas Day is often quiet, but this one was utterly silent and very, very long. I felt empty and flat, kind of like this:

I went out for a walk, my face at the ready to smile and pass on holiday greetings, but there were few people on the streets, and those I saw avoided eye contact. In the course of my perambulations, though, I realized it was a blue Christmas in a more welcome sense: the sky was brilliant, the air clear, the conditions perfect for my iPhone’s camera.

Boxing Day dawned ever bluer:

This last one is from a few days ago when the sky was more threatening. I’m including it, though, because I like it a lot.

Hope you all had a less lonely Christmas Day, and, well, it’s over now and we can all relax.

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in BROOKLYN, PHOTOGRAPHY. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Blue Christmas

  1. Elke says:

    WELL, IT LOOKS LIKE YOU MADE LEMONADE OUT OF A BLUE LEMON!!! XOX ELKE

  2. Stephanie says:

    My dear Cara,

    In some ways much better than last year….
    Sending you a virtual belated Christmas hug.
    Looking forward to seeing you to give you one in person.
    xo

  3. cara says:

    Thanks, Steph, for reminding me (last year I got sick at my own Christmas party!)

  4. Jean Cox says:

    Mine was a little “blue” as well, but I managed to find a Christmas Party to attend, so it wasn’t as lonesome as it could have been. Hats off to you on taking your camera around and catching a few nice shots.

    Happy New Year!
    Regards

  5. MazeDancer says:

    You had a day all your own to do with as your pleased. A gift indeed. And taking pictures an excellent use of it. A gift to us.

    Realize that all over America were tens of millions of people wrapped in absurd and life-snuffing family dramas that would have given anything to have been walking the blue sky-ed streets of New York, alone, and ready to smile.

    Peace on Earth to all. Soon.

Got something to say? Please say it!

