Airport Hotel That Doesn’t Seem Like One

DID YOU THINK “NICE AIRPORT HOTEL” was an oxymoron? I did. But I was determined not to stay in a soulless American chain hotel for my one-night layover in Madrid. That would have been depressing. I wanted to prolong my time in Europe, where the coffee is good, the pop music is bad, and the debt crisis is comfortingly familiar.

Image

Before leaving the States last week, I made a reservation at the Hostal Villa de Paracuellos, above, in a small older building whose owners evidently decided to turn its location in a village a few kms from Barajas Airport to advantage.

Image

I was picked up last night after my flight from Lanazarote by a van that shuttled me there in 10 minutes, and I found the design-y, recently renovated boutique hotel much to my liking.

Image

Image

The WiFi proved unreliable (I’m posting this from Brooklyn, having just arrived home) and there are no English-language channels on the cable TV. Boo! On the plus side: my top floor garret had two skylights from which I could see the village rooftops and a super bathroom with heated towel racks and a rainhead shower. Nice people, and a price reminiscent of the old days: 42 euros including breakfast.

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in SPAIN, TRAVEL and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Got something to say? Please say it!

