Last Day in Lanzarote

IMG_0392

THE SUN CAME OUT AGAIN on my last full day in Lanzarote, most of which I spent hiking 12 kilometers (7-1/2 miles) along the crowns of four volcanic craters in the northern part of the island.

IMG_0361

I signed up at my hotel for a trekking excursion with a multi-national group from Germany, Finland, Russia, and Belgium.

IMG_0377

I didn’t intend to be quite that ambitious, but I was misinformed. I thought it was an easy 6 kilometers and that my fashion sneakers would do. I also thought it was on the other side of the island (the schedule recently changed, but the desk clerk didn’t know that). Anyway, it was spectacular, and I survived.

IMG_0385

Even though I’m not a fan of the grab bag approach to blog posts, I’m going to stuff this one with a few of my favorite photos from the past couple of days in Lanzarote. These didn’t fit neatly into my previous narratives, but I’d still like to share them.

IMG_0183

Above: My hotel, the Gran Melia Salinas, a real 1970s period piece

IMG_0253

A cafe in the town of Teguise, with Moroccan-style tapas and WiFi

IMG_0232

A typical Lanzarotean green door with sadly atypical bougainvillea. Oddly, though Mediterranean flowering plants grow here with ease, most houses are nearly barren of landscaping.

IMG_0299

IMG_0298

Cesar Manrique’s art is everywhere in Lanzarote. Above, the restrooms at the Jardin de Cactus

IMG_0272

Porthole window at the Castillo de San Jose, the contemporary art museum in Arrecife

IMG_0344

Exuberant explosion in a Manrique kinetic sculpture (called the equivalent of ‘wind toys’ in Spanish) at Mirador del Rio

Lanzarote has grown on me in just three days.

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in SPAIN, TRAVEL and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Last Day in Lanzarote

  1. Barbara says:

    Now seriously jealous. This looks so awesome.

  2. Nice pictures – Reminded me of my visit there in 1983

  3. GAP says:

    What an awesome trip to a most unusual place. Great memories, I’m sure.

Got something to say? Please say it!

