Funny Flowers

IMG_1129GOT BACK TO BROOKLYN late last night and saw too many empty vases.

This morning, on a run to my local deli, these goofy-lookin’ things grabbed my attention and made me smile.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Anybody know what they are? And should I keep them in water or let them dry out?

IMG_0949

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in BROOKLYN, GARDENS & GARDENING, INTERIOR DESIGN. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Funny Flowers

  1. Harriet says:

    I saw these at my local farmers’ market on Saturday! Will find out what they’re called this week.

  2. Cher@NR says:

    Wow, I’ve never seen those either.

  3. cara says:

    Thanks, H. Must be something new if neither of us have noticed them before!

  4. Astor C says:

    The things bear a striking resemblance to the pods from Invasion of the Body Snatchers. I’d be careful… Don’t fall asleep…

  5. cara says:

    That’s authoritative, Maze. I followed the link. Seems they are also known as ‘Hairy Balls.’

  6. Coppermaven says:

    That closeup and nickname hairyballs….my thoughts are too x-rated for this family friendly blog!

  7. Marilyn Fish says:

    I think they are Cactus Seusseosis or possibly Porcupus Tuchus. In any case, water them bi-weekly.

  8. Jenny McH says:

    I have been following your blog for some time, not sure if i have left a comment before….just had to say thanks to your other readers for their comments….”pods from the invasion of the Body Snatchers” and “Hairy Balls”, their comments have just brightened my day after dealing with non-paying clients & telecommunication people! from Jen (DownUnder)

  9. cara says:

    Hi Jen, your name is familiar – I believe you have commented before, and I just love that you follow my blog from Down Under! Good to hear from you…my readers brighten my day too!

Got something to say? Please say it!

