White Floors Unveiled!

IMG_0777

SO ON SUNDAY, I arrived at my East Hampton cottage with baited breath. The painters had finished sanding, priming, and putting two coats of white on the wood floors, and the paint had had a couple of days to dry. I opened the door with trepidation. Would I like it? YES! I love it!

IMG_0785

The first thing I did, of course, was take off my shoes and put on a pair of white socks in case my bare feet weren’t clean enough. The second thing was hang a sign on the front door requesting that all visitors remove their shoes. The third thing was spread a bewildering array of rag rugs in key spots, which give the place a somewhat Scandinavian look. (I’m tempted to hang yet another sign asking visitors to please leap between the rag rugs and avoid touching the painted floor at all with their bare or stockinged feet, but I suppose that would be too much.) The fourth thing I did was go out and buy a Swiffer mop and both wet and dry refills, so I’m ready for anything.

IMG_0780

It’s kind of like when you get a new car. You hold your breath until you get that first ding, and then you can relax. I’m sure that, with time, my floors will become just as distressed (lived-in, sandy, smudged, scuffed) as my car is, and that will be just fine. But right now they are pristine and I’m going to enjoy it for however long that lasts.

IMG_0781

About cara

I blog for fun at https://casacara.wordpress.com, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in COTTAGE LIVING, HAMPTONS, INTERIOR DESIGN, LONG ISLAND and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to White Floors Unveiled!

  1. Patti Hinkle says:

    Love the white floors. They’re perfect for a summer place. Your sign is too cute.

  2. Guy McClure says:

    I know the feeling! My stomach churns when I hear our mini Dachshund sliding across the floor while chasing the cat. He leaves nail marks on the wooden floor that you can see if the light hits them just right.

  3. Mary-Liz Campbell says:

    Beautiful!! So clean looking & yes, Scandinavian!

  4. Terry says:

    White floors are great dust-bunny camouflage. At first I wept over every scratch. Not any more. We have one more room to go 3 down, one to go. What kind of paint did you use? http://tk-jk.net/redo/Articles/Thebedroomhallfloorgoeswh.html

  5. Jean Cox says:

    Love your new painted floors and the glimpses of your home. Everything looks so fresh.

    I can relate to the not wanting any marks, dings, etc. on your new painted floors. After I painted almost my whole house (walls), I vowed I’d never hammer a nail again. Didn’t want to mess up that new paint job. Well, guess what? Several years later now there are plenty of nail holes and every time, I place or change a new picture, I remember what I said! Now that I think about it, it’s probably time to paint again.

  6. cara says:

    Terry, it’s called Painter’s Select Porch & Floor coating, satin finish. Color is “Sand Powder.” Hi Patti, ML, Guy, Jean — good to hear from you all:-)

  7. wendy says:

    Beautiful floors! I have a 1902 Victorian and I painted the old subfloors white in the bedroom and kitchen 3 years ago. I love them!

Got something to say? Please say it!

