It’s Rhodie Time

DSCN2043

THIS WEEK belongs to the rhododendrons. Surely they must be king of the flowers.

Seen in and around East Hampton, N.Y.:

DSCN2039

DSCN2041

DSCN1934

DSCN1920

I’m also pleased with my irises and perennial geraniums, below. The Deer-Out is holding them at bay.

DSCN2026

And here’s an evergreen, low-maintenance, completely deer-resistant garden solution, below: the all-boxwood garden. It has a kind of a whimsical fairy-tale look, I think, very Hobbit-y — but as much as I love boxwoods, I could never limit myself to a monolithic planting scheme like that.

DSCN2042

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in GARDENS & GARDENING, HAMPTONS, LONG ISLAND and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s Rhodie Time

  1. Patti Hinkle says:

    Oh! Oh! I love the rhodies.

  2. hamptontoes says:

    I was in the Hamptons all weekend and could not stop looking at the gorgeous rhodies. They are so nice and for such a short period of time! We’ll have to meet this summer!

  3. cara says:

    The hailstorm we had last night really hastened their demise. I barely got to enjoy them!

  4. Nancy says:

    Yours looks great! Transforms the frontage!

Got something to say? Please say it!

