The Deck Chronicles: Almost There

VENTURE A GUESS on the cost of my deck project, excluding the new door, by commenting on this post (click ‘Leave a comment’ or ‘[#of] comments’ in small type above). The person who comes closest will win a copy of East Hampton: A History and Guide, a 1975 guidebook to the Town of East Hampton from Sag Harbor to Montauk. OK, yeah, the restaurant section is a bit out of date, but the history hasn’t changed.

IMG_3916

MY NEW DECK IS ALMOST DONE, and I’m liking it a lot. The yellow cedar will weather to gray. Meanwhile, it smells good.

IMG_3919

Above, see the difference in levels between the main deck and the separate shower platform, and the hole cut out for the new door replacing the bathroom window. Because of the construction, my visiting friend and I were forced to spend the entire day at the beach.

One more day, and there will be an enclosed shower stall between the 4×4 posts, below. I can’t tell you how exciting this is for me.

IMG_3925

First meal on the new deck, below: grilled farmstand vegs; quinoa; a humongous heirloom tomato; and a bottle of Jamesport Sauvignon Blanc.

IMG_3921

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in HAMPTONS, LONG ISLAND, OLD-HOUSE MAKEOVERS and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Deck Chronicles: Almost There

  1. priscilla says:

    Okay Cara How about 7500?
    It looks beautiful. Is your outdoor shower plumbing right behind the tub in your bathroom?

  2. bob says:

    Cara,
    Looks like really good craftsmanship. Cost: $5995.00
    Us it in the best of health.
    Bob

  3. Cara,

    Being a renter in Brooklyn, whose only real estate investment to date is a 1 BR in the West Village, I have zero experience with the current costs of decking. However, I am a devoted reader of your blog and must throw out a guess if only to express my sincere admiration. I thoroughly enjoy your detailed posts, genuine voice, and interests in real estate, gardening, and beauty. I am a reluctant writer myself and your dedication is inspiring!!

    My guess is $5475.00 plus assorted cold beverages for the boys throughout the day. :)

    Lisa

Got something to say? Please say it!

