Yard Sale Booty + Another Map Giveaway

UPDATE: Jordy P., fan of Jersey Shore yard sales, is the winner of the Texaco map – congrats, Jordy!

To enter casaCARA’s vintage map giveaway (I’m giving away a 1930s Texaco map of New York City, Long Island, and New Jersey, pictured below), all you have to do is leave a COMMENT on this post! How easy is that? (Just click on “[Number of] Comments” in small type, above.) Drawing to be held via random.org this Friday, 7/23, at 6PM.


Framed seed packet collection, 33″x41″, $30

YARD SALE SEASON IS IN FULL SWING here in the Humptons. There are so many each weekend, it’s impossible to get to all of them — or at least, it’s impossible to be first to all of them. A fair number are in older houses, and the pickin’s are emphatically not slim. They are robust.

Most people here have had some semblance of money, so one finds genuine antiques and name-brand merch of quality, like LeCreuset cookware and mega-thread count bed linens, rather than the detritus of households that never had much to begin with. Also, there’s a lot of seasonal moving in and out, which tends to lead to yard sales.

This past weekend, I was looking for a farmhouse dining table. I didn’t find one, but here’s what I did find. OK, nothing earth-shattering here. But enough to make my couple of hours driving around worthwhile.

The unusual item at the top of this post was my first and best find, around 8AM on Saturday. What is it? I’m not sure. Looks like a color-coded collection of vintage seed packets, mounted on a purple board and professionally framed in a contemporary wood frame. Whether they’re actual seed packets or perhaps prototype designs for seed packets, I wouldn’t know, unless I took the thing apart. Anyway, it’s big and graphic and I needed something for my kitchen wall.


Pair of wrought iron candle sconces, 1940s or ’50s, $10


Marble cheese board with glass cloche, $5


The 1987 burgundy, above, was my friend Nancy’s score. Could be transcendental, could be undrinkable — to be determined. $10


9″ ceramic planter with green mottled glaze marked “Made in Italy,” $5


More vintage maps! They’re 1930s New York-area maps, plus one the homeowner told me dates from his grandparents’ trip to Hawaii in 1956. I should have bought them all the first time around but contented myself with three. This past weekend, I had a second chance (people often have repeat sales until they finally get rid of everything). I got four more maps for $10. Big spender!

Now to the giveaway: I’m giving away the Texaco map pictured at right in the picture above; you can see details of it in the two pictures below.

So please let me hear from you in the comments. What are the yard (tag, stoop, garage, barn, estate) sales like where you are? Get anything good recently?



About cara

I blog for fun at https://casacara.wordpress.com, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in ANTIQUES & COLLECTING, COTTAGE LIVING, HAMPTONS, LONG ISLAND and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Yard Sale Booty + Another Map Giveaway

  1. Terry says:

    Please save the map for someone a little closer. I like the framed seed packs. educational folk art or is it pop art?

  2. emily l says:

    What a cool giveaway! I would love to be entered, thank you. :)


  3. Astor C. says:

    What’s interesting about the seed packets is that there are no logos at bottom or top. Perhaps you’re right–artist’s proofs? Are they empty?

  4. Harriet says:

    I have six vintage seed packs framed in one of the original windows I saved from our previous house. Replacing the windows was one of the many things we did to our 1927 arts and crafts home. The window frame now hangs in my apartment kitchen and reminds me how much l miss my house, but not the upkeep. Now that I’ve downsized, I don’t go to yard sales, but live vicariously through your blog. So no map for me.

  5. Nancy says:

    See, I did leave something behind! Now I’ll have to wait until I see you again to try that wine!

  6. Lori says:

    I am so jealous of the yardsales you got to go to! I never find good ones..love maps!!!!
    Lori R

  7. Eric says:

    I’ve been holding to a particular brand of bulb packages for the longest time and now I know what to do with them. It is such a great idea to frame them all together, taking advantage of the beautiful pictures.
    Thank you for the idea!

  8. Jordy P says:

    I LOVE the yard sales at the Jersey shore! They always pull out the big stops, and we can find everything related to the beach… House decor, towels, bicycles (and those built for two). I hate being where the yard sales aren’t top notch… it makes saturday mornings so dull.

  9. eileen says:

    I tend to be unlucky at yard sales, except for my son’s first guitar for $15. I do better on Craigslist, where I furnished much of my home. My favorite was a perfect dining table for my breakfast room for $250, after which I discovered 6 beautiful cane chairs for $200.
    I would love the map for my house in Springs.
    Any good sales this weekend?

  10. BKH-WSCT says:

    Great finds! Where are you finding the yard sale listings? I checked around for a few in the East Hampton Star.. any other good resources for looking for estate and yard sales out East? Thanks!

  11. Debre says:

    Marry me, Jordy P.

  12. cara says:

    The East Hampton Star is all you need, BKH. They publish the classifieds online Thursday afternoons. Eileen, we’ll know the answer to your question Thursday afternoon! The best sales tend to be in older neighborhoods, but you never know what you’re going to find at any given sale, even in a condo — so leave no stone unturned!

  13. Doris B says:

    I love that map! I’ve got a thing for old gasoline logos. I do my yard saling on the North Fork and I recently picked up a mismatched pair of Queen Anne style chairs, some Mexican silver and onyx rings, a vintage Dansk salad bowl. The competition is fierce though!

  14. Quinn says:

    Who won the last one?

  15. cara says:

    Oops, sorry, meant to update the post with an announcement of who won the previous map giveaway. Thanks for reminding me, Quinn. It was Lisa from Brooklyn, who wrote a long, juicy comment. Hey Doris B, welcome. You’re making the North Fork sound mighty tempting – I might just add to the competition!

  16. Joy says:

    Great map, esp. the colors! It would find a nice home on my wall.

Got something to say? Please say it!

