The Red Door

JamesTMaleProExtA600

ANOTHER RED DOOR! That was my first thought when I saw a recent post on Rural Intelligence, the home/food/culture blog of the Hudson Valley, about staging the 1760 Colonial, above, for sale.

P1030506

Boerum Hill, Brooklyn

The post features the provocative James Mane, a Greene County real estate agent/hands-on stager, who prefers the term “editing” and who’ll take a project only with the understanding that he can do as he pleases. He really strips a place down to showcase “the house, not the furnishings” — which makes perfect sense when you have historic houses of enormous charm and character to sell (and clients with boring stuff).

IMG_2730

Tivoli, Dutchess County, NY

Why the cliché red door on Mane’s latest project? “To warm it up,” of course (the paint is Benjamin Moore’s “Warm Comfort,” something close to persimmon).

IMG_8720

Philadelphia

Red doors seem to be everywhere lately, used as a quick and easy pick-me-up for a house, especially one on the market. A red door says ‘Welcome, please come in and love me — better yet, buy me.’

2

Park Slope, Brooklyn

Actually, I love red doors, though I’ve usually painted my own some version of turquoise, because an Israeli friend once told me it keeps evil spirits away.

IMG_8662

Kinderhook, Columbia County, NY

Any thoughts on the meaning of the red door?

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in BROOKLYN, COTTAGE LIVING, HISTORIC PRESERVATION, HUDSON VALLEY, PHILADELPHIA and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Red Door

  1. Astor C. says:

    Just reminds me of the red dress Bette Davis worn in “Jezebel” (her consolation prize for not landing GWTW) — defiance.

  2. Quinn says:

    I like red doors though so many of them seem a little off – like the first picture. The color seems insulting to the house. Love the third one!

  3. Coppermaven says:

    I agree with Quinn. That staged red door looks out of place to me with the color of the shutters. However, I do like the other red doors you showcased.

  4. Astor C. says:

    Actually the red front door is a Feng Shui thing. Presumably red is the color associated with Prosperity & Abundance, Fame & Reputation, Love & Relationships, all good things for a welcoming front door.

  5. Coppermaven says:

    maybe Astor C., aka…, but feng shui or no feng shui it needs to e harmonious with the rest of the house.

Got something to say? Please say it!

