I Hate Painting

I’M THINKING RUSTOLEUM. I have a wrought iron bench on the front deck and an old metal bedstead for the guest room, both in need of some bright paint.

That’s not my bench, above. It’s from Gardenhouse, a site that specializes in reclaiming vintage outdoor furniture and accessories, and I find it way more inspiring to contemplate a project like that than what I’ve been doing for the past two days: painting the guest room.

I’d forgotten how much I hate painting walls (and ceilings – they’re the worst). Yesterday I primed, all the while trying to think who I could call to come finish the job. Today I picked the roller up again, reluctantly, bespeckling myself, my hair, and my glasses with China White. The color is creamier than I intended, but so be it. I can’t run out to the paint store as easily as I did in Brooklyn; anyway, I refuse to extend the process.

Listening to music didn’t help. I missed my daughter, who made last autumn’s painting jag a lot more fun.  The fact that I couldn’t see what I was doing added to the misery (the top coat and primer are close in color, and although I had a clamp-on light, the room was dim by late afternoon, or maybe my eyes are failing).

I vowed this would be the last time…that is, until tomorrow, when I do the trim, including a set of window shutters (shudder), and — saving the best for last — one short wall with Benjamin Moore’s Rhythm and Blues. In a couple of days, I’ll wow you with pictures.

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in COTTAGE LIVING, HAMPTONS, INTERIOR DESIGN, LONG ISLAND, OLD-HOUSE MAKEOVERS and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Hate Painting

  1. Terry says:

    The worst in painting is painting something tricky over your head wearing bifocals. Painting crown molding is an example. Thinking about it makes my neck sore. Of course there is the cleaning up…

  2. cara says:

    You’re not kidding, Terry. All day yesterday I was wondering why my neck and shoulders ached. Then I remembered. In the morning light, however, the room looks good. I may even go on to do the floor, so my knees can hurt too.

  3. Nancy says:

    You are a glutton for punishment! I hate painting and I never do it!

  4. Mary-Liz says:

    I think you are amazing!! Think of all your beloved guests who will really appreciate your efforts!!

Got something to say? Please say it!

