Guest Room Re-Do

IMG_1227

THIS COMING WEEK, I’M SLIPPING IN A RENOVATION PROJECT that wasn’t even on my priority list. The roofer remains elusive, and I can’t do the parking court until he’s done. I can’t do the deck/outdoor shower until April at least, because the area beneath which I plan to put the 400-square-foot deck is filled with ferns that were the most satisfying part of the landscape when I got here last May, as well as 75 daffodil bulbs, chelone (turtlehead), and astilbes. (I’ll move all that elsewhere, but can’t do it until the ground is good and unfrozen.)

IMG_1237

Like a shark, I’ve got to keep moving forward or else I’ll die. Or so it feels. So on Tuesday, a contractor is coming to fix up the 2nd bedroom, or guest room, in my East Hampton cottage. He’ll install a new window I happen to have in the basement, above (custom-made for another house and never used), along the longer wall, which I expect will make the 7-foot-wide room feel much more pleasant. He’ll remove cruddy molding, a damaged ceiling from a long-ago roof leak, and replace the old, wallpapered-over sheetrock and baseboard.

It will also make the house look a whole lot more interesting from the outside.

IMG_1239

I’m kind of dreading the whole operation, to tell ya the truth. It’ll last most of the week. It’s been very cold here, and the exterior wall in that room will be open for at least a few hours. And then there’s the dust. But hopefully the satisfaction of accomplishment will trump the inconvenience.

And now the roofer is saying he may also come this week. Chaos!

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in COTTAGE LIVING, HAMPTONS, LANDSCAPING, LONG ISLAND, OLD-HOUSE MAKEOVERS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Guest Room Re-Do

  1. ericadreher says:

    This room is tiny, but it is going to be adorable. The added windows will open the room beautifully. Please tell me you are saving the shutters from the original windows…they are gorgeous!

  2. That sounds like a wonderful plan. Nice window.

    Love the ferns.

  3. cara says:

    Thanks, Erica & Kathleen, for the encouragement!

  4. Mary-Liz says:

    Looking forward to spending some time there!!

  5. coppermaven says:

    I claim first dibs!

  6. cara says:

    Looks like you may have to fight it out with Mary-Liz!;-)

  7. Love those new windows???

Got something to say? Please say it!

