Andalusia, Here I Come

Alhambra - Granda - España by Nino H.

LATER THIS MONTH, I’m heading to Spain for a week with a friend and a camera. This trip is a radically abbreviated version of a dream I’ve had for years: spending the entire winter in southern Europe. But ya gotta start somewhere.

I’m going first to Madrid, then taking the train south to Seville, Granada, and Cordoba. It’s mainly a vacation and not a press trip, and I’m thrilled about that (though I have to pay for it). Still, I’ll be researching historic gardens and taking lots of notes and pictures, because I just can’t help myself.

We’ll go to the Alhambra, of course, but it’s the intimate courtyard and patio gardens I hope will inspire me for my own backyard. No doubt I’ll be bummed I can’t grow orange trees and oleander here on Long Island, but I’m sure there’s much to learn from the structural elements of Spanish gardens, even in winter.

So far, even though the trip is only two weeks away, I’ve done little advance planning, and I’ve never been to that part of Spain before. So if anyone has suggestions for places to stay, eat, go, or see, please let ‘em rip in the comments, and gracias!

Photo: View of the Alhambra, from Nino H’s Flickr photostream

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in GARDENS & GARDENING, SPAIN and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Andalusia, Here I Come

  1. Chania says:

    I am looking forward to seeing your photos of Spain. Hopefully you will be able to take a few of some nice Real Estate there. Have fun

  2. brooklynGreene says:

    Have a GREAT time!!!
    :-)

  3. Nancy says:

    Take me with you!

  4. JC says:

    I spent a whole week gawking, but I can’t wait to see Spain again through your expert eyes! We never left Barcelona, alas, so didn’t get to see any architecture in the country.

    I was completely mesmerized by all the orange trees just casually growing in the city. As a lifelong Northeasterner, I’ve yet to fathom the idea that oranges… grow… on… trees?!

Got something to say? Please say it!

