Quirkytown

THE HAMLET OF BARRYTOWN, N.Y., on the Hudson River in northern Dutchess County, is kind of a cabinet of architectural curiosities (which makes Frank Gehry’s titanium-roofed concert hall on the nearby Bard College campus — one of the few recently built structures in the area — almost fit in).

There are a number of churches and houses, some of them octagonal, in Carpenter Gothic style, with carved wood trim that is an earlier and simpler version of Victorian gingerbread.

It’s worth a drive around. There’s lots more where these came from, and not a ranch or split-level among them.

Here’s a link to an 1880 Barrytown house on the market now, with an old-fashioned second-story balcony.

ONE YEAR AGO TODAY: Brownstone Myths & Mysteries

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in HUDSON VALLEY, PROPERTIES FOR SALE and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quirkytown

  1. priscilla says:

    Steely Dan -Barrytown , perhaps inspired by Fagan and Becker’s time at Bard College?

    I’m not one to look behind I know that times must change
    But over there in Barrytown they do things very strange
    And though you’re not my enemy
    I like things like they used to be
    And though you’d like some company
    I’m standing by myself
    Go play with someone else
    I can see by what you carry that you come from Barrytown

    Don’t believe I’m taken in by stories I have heard
    I just read the Daily News and swear by every word
    And don’t think that I’m out of line
    For speaking out for what is mine
    I’d like to see you do just fine
    But look at what you wear
    And the way you cut your hair

    I can see by what you carry that you come from Barrytown

    In the beginning we recall that the word was hurled
    Barrytown people got to be from another world

    Leave me or I’ll be just like the others you will meet
    They won’t act as kindly if they see you on the street
    And don’t you scream or make a shout
    It’s nothing you can do about
    It was there where you came out
    It’s a special lack of grace
    I can see it in your face

    I can see by what you carry that you come from Barrytown

    This is one of my favorite Steely Dan songs.

  2. cara says:

    hmmm…the *famous* Barrytown is in New Zealand, so I assumed that was it, but then I didn’t know about the Bard College connection!

  3. Astor C. says:

    Quirky, yes. But not the prices!

Got something to say? Please say it!

