What a Little Blue Can Do

IMG_2465

TODAY I’M SENDING YOU ELSEWHERE, to an adventures-in-renovating blog called A Brooklyn Limestone in Progress, which I much admire for its creativity, enthusiasm, graphic design, and general professionalism.

IMG_2454

As part of an extended guest-blogging series, I’ve contributed a post about my cottage fix-ups that begins:

WHAT’S THE BIGGEST COLOR CLICHÉ IN THE BEACH COTTAGE BOOK? That’s right: blue and white. Sorry, but that’s what I wanted for my first house at the beach, a fixer-upper in Springs, N.Y. (a hamlet five miles north of East Hampton waaaaaay out at the end of Long Island) that I bought in May 2009.

IMG_2461

As a longtime city person and Brooklyn resident, I’d never done the beachy blue-and-white thing…

Go here to read the whole thing and see more pictures of my excessive use of Benjamin Moore’s Sailors’ Sea Blue. And check out the rest of Mrs. Limestone’s groovy blog while you’re at it.

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in BROOKLYN, COTTAGE LIVING, HAMPTONS, INTERIOR DESIGN, LONG ISLAND, OLD-HOUSE MAKEOVERS and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What a Little Blue Can Do

  1. I really like the blue! (and the fridge)

    I love the blue cushions also.

    I am exploring what to do with my enclosed porch now, from replacing the very old and Energy-Star-less dryer to repairing/insulating the windows so that I can sit during the winter.

    I’m renting, but no reason I can’t invest in a little renovating, especially as my landlords won’t be able to think about me until it’s too late.

  2. cara says:

    hi there Melissa. Glad you like the blue touches. More to come. Been painting for days – you’ll see. I’ve given up on the idea of enclosing my screened porch for this winter. The houseplants will have to stay in the living room.

Got something to say? Please say it!

