Instant Gratification

IMG_2365

BIG DOINGS around here this morning. I had a large doublefile viburnum (viburnum plicatum tomentosum ‘Shasta’) delivered and planted by Spielberg, a nursery in Amagansett. That’s right. Two nice guys came and dug a hole and positioned this gorgeous red-purple shrub in all its fall glory, then made the little moat around it to hold water, while I stood and watched, not straining my back in the least. It was wonderful.

View out my kitchen window at 10AM:

IMG_2360

View out my kitchen window at noon:

IMG_2368

I followed them with handfuls of milorganite, a fertilizer said to deter deer, and then whipped up a batch of homemade deer repellent, adapted from this website.

Then they planted two other, smaller shrubs I’d ordered: an abelia ‘Little Richard’ and a boxwood ‘Winter Gem,’ evergreens that are sure to cheer me up each time I enter the driveway this winter.

 

 

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in GARDENS & GARDENING, HAMPTONS, LONG ISLAND and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Instant Gratification

  1. Gorgeous! I have always wanted a doublefile viburnum, what a great view you are going to have from your window. I love the before and after!

  2. Terry Kearns says:

    That even made me feel good!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Hooray!!!!!

  4. Kathleen says:

    Winter Gem boxwood is beautiful. You’ve inspired me to plant some to offset the gray of winter. Really like your blog lot.

  5. cara says:

    Welcome, Kathleen. Glad you found me. Yes, the boxwood makes me very happy!

Got something to say? Please say it!

