One Weekend in Maine

IMG_1872

CAPE PORPOISE, MAINE – Maine fulfilled my pre-conceived notions: rugged coastline, superior lobster, and lots of Revolutionary-era cottages and Victorian mansions — almost nothing but old houses, in fact, in the area around Kennebunkport.

I particularly love the over-the-top yellow and white gingerbread castle, below. Looks like it was originally a brick Colonial, amended in the 1840s with the addition of carved wood detail in the Gothic style that was then the rage.

IMG_1909

Scroll down for more Maine scenes, from grand to humble, that caught my eye…

IMG_1874

IMG_1877

IMG_1885

IMG_1897

IMG_1902

IMG_1918

IMG_1920

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in ROAD TRIPS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to One Weekend in Maine

  1. Nancy says:

    I have never seen gingerbreading like that yellow house! You sure it isn’t a more recent addition?

  2. cara says:

    I can only say what it looks like to me. Sometimes I’m wrong, sometimes I’m right. It sure is a traffic-stopper.

  3. grand army plaza says:

    I think that yellow house is known in that area as “The Wedding Cake House.”

  4. joan says:

    Don’t you just love Maine?! We head over there at least once a month to get our “fix”! On our day-trips we get as far as Kennebunk, or Portland if we start early enough. Wells and Ogunquit have great houses too, did you make those towns?
    I am enjoying your blog!

  5. cara says:

    hi Joan, thanks for your enthusiasm! I’d never been to coastal Maine before and it certainly does have a stock of old houses (almost unsullied by not-old houses, that’s what I love most about it!) Didn’t get to Portland or Ogunquit but did drive through Wells on my way back, eyes wide open!

Got something to say? Please say it!

