Life’s a Beach

Louse Point, my favorite beach

Louse Point, my favorite beach

I DON’T MEAN TO GLOAT, but I keep confusing my life with a vacation. Going to the beach every day. Kayaking on Accabonac Harbor. Riding my hot-pink balloon tire bike. Eating lots of fresh seafood. Drinking margaritas on the screened porch. (My newfound ability to relax is due largely to having rented my Cobble Hill townhouse as of August 1st — to someone who saw my post on this blog!)

Barn sale on Skimhampton Road

Barn sale on Skimhampton Road

A friend is visiting this weekend. Saturday was a full day, with yard sales in the morning (I got a green wicker side chair for $25, a funky cattail lamp for $15, a Le Creuset pot for $2, and more), and in the afternoon, the East Hampton Antiques Show on the grounds of Mulford Farm, a 17th century farmstead in a state of exquisite preservation.

IMG_1360

Rattan and other beachy furnishings at the East Hampton Antiques Show

Needless to say, I didn’t buy anything there, but I enjoyed looking at perfectly restored and gorgeously upholstered Heywood-Wakefield rattan furniture ($12,000 for the couch alone) and saying hi to Rico from Objects in the Loft, a store in West Palm Beach, FL, I’ve written about in Metropolitan Home.

La Fondita, Amagansett - good, cheap Mexican food

La Fondita, Amagansett, home of the $6 shrimp taco

In the middle of the night the rains came, and I awoke at 2AM remembering that both my car windows and the cellar doors (slanted hatch doors that open from the outside and are referred to around here as ‘Bilco’ doors, which always makes me think of Phil Silvers) were WIDE open.

Today is Sunday. The rain has stopped, and I have some mopping up to do.

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in ANTIQUES & COLLECTING, HISTORIC PRESERVATION, LONG ISLAND and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life’s a Beach

  1. Yay to renting out the townhouse…but I must admit to being more than a bit jealous about your regular access to the (nicer) beaches!

    I was just thinking about a weekday trip out to LI – time for some long overdue reading!

Got something to say? Please say it!

