Home Improvements

IMG_0816THIS MORNING I WAS GREETED BY A SURPRISE VISITOR: a 4-foot foxglove in sudden, outrageous bloom in the woods just beyond my property line. Reading up on it, I came upon the phrase “naturalistic woodland garden.” That’s what I want to create here; that’s what’s suited to this site, which, though south-facing, has very few spots for plants that require full sun.

Shade-tolerant and deer-resistant will be my watchwords as I figure out what to plant. Columbine is easy, self-sowing, as I learned upstate. Meadow rue I’ve never tried, but here in Zone 7 I might, along with chartreuse bursts of spurge, which I love (hope the deer don’t) but have never had any success with.

Yesterday, with the help of a pickax-wielding friend, I did further battle against wisteria roots, uprooted overabundant barberries, moved ferns out of the area where I want eventually to put a patio and into what I call the ‘fern glade.’

Over the past few days there have been quite a few vital home improvements. I now have HEAT, for one. Yes, it’s June, but on Tuesday, when Charles the plumber made my furnace operational for the first time since I got here in mid-May, it was chilly and raw, and I immediately put the thermostat up to 70 and basked in the warmth. (That was too warm; I soon put it down again to 65.)

Thanks to Tom the electrician, I now have a light at my front entry. I have a washer and dryer – oh, the convenience – and a stove. The refrigerator question is still open; Sears is coming to pick up the noisy Whirlpool beast on Sunday, and I will replace it with something quieter and more high-end, as soon as I can focus on it.

Read up on foxgloves here.

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in GARDENS & GARDENING, LONG ISLAND, OLD-HOUSE MAKEOVERS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Home Improvements

  1. ErayB says:

    Wow – no surprise that foxglove is used to make the heart drug “digitalis” – I had serious cardiac symptoms when I saw that beauty on your website– it is gorgeous! And a “naturalistic woodland garden” will be a great goal to strive towards…. I can hear Little Red Riding Hood walking through it now! Glad to hear you have heat and electricity to keep the wolf out though — all the comforts of home! Hope you find a good fridge – that blue Smeg was sure oomphy! Hope you are enjoying the process as much as we (lucky readers) are!
    Ellen

  2. Mary-Liz says:

    Sounds almost civilized! For your “naturalistic woodland garden” that is deer resistant I suggest some astilbe, hellebores, epimediums. ligularia, cimicifugia, pulmonaria, chasmanthium & Japanese forest grass (hakonechloa macro – my favourite!).

Got something to say? Please say it!

