Welcome to Springs

IMG_0464I’M STARTING TO EXPLORE my new neighborhood, bit by bit.

The main attraction here is the Pollock-Krasner House and Study Center on Springs Fireplace Road, below, an 1879 farmhouse that was home to Jackson Pollock and Lee Krasner, two of the leading lights of Abstract Expressionist painting. When I have time, I’ll take the tour; I look forward to seeing Krasner’s collection of eclectic furniture and the floor of the barn studio, encrusted with Pollock’s famous paint spatters.

IMG_0485

In the meantime, I had a lovely chat with the assistant director, a longtime local named Ruby Jackson, who was friendly with the woman who sold me this cottage (whom I never got to meet). Ruby said she was an avid gardener who created a ‘work of art’ in what is now my backyard. After next week, when landscapers come to clear the overgrown, neglected masses of weeds and brush, I hope to see more of it and take my own gardening cues from there.

With my daughter Zoe, who’s here helping me with myriad handywoman projects, I checked out the Green River Cemetery, where Pollock, Krasner, and other notable artists are buried underneath some unconventional headstones.

IMG_0465

No, Pollock wasn’t Jewish, but it looks like many of his visitors are, or at least they’re following the Jewish tradition of leaving stones on a grave marker.

IMG_0474

Below, the grave of Stan Vanderbeek, the experimental filmmaker.

IMG_0467

The official Springs Historic District seems to consist of about four buildings, including Ashwagh Hall, used for art exhibitions; the public library; a onetime blacksmith shop; and a cute general store (a deli, really, with above-average offerings) adjacent to old-time gas pumps and a shed, which turn into an antique store on weekends.

IMG_0481

Above, the library and Springs Historical Society, which I have yet to find open (hours are short).

IMG_0484

IMG_0479

But the real glory of the area are two incredible beaches, one at Maidstone Park, a long crescent of white sand rimming Gardiner’s Bay, and the other at Louse Point, below, at the end of a spit of land jutting into Accobonac Harbor. Both were near-deserted yesterday, except for the birds.

2714687623_63779e4fa1-1

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in LONG ISLAND, ROAD TRIPS and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Welcome to Springs

  1. I’ not Jewish either but I love the tradition of leaving stones on a gravemarker.

    I gotta say I’m enjoying The Springs just as much as the Brooklyn installments.

    Enjoy the holiday weekend.

  2. Mary-Liz says:

    Show us photos of the beach so we can really drool!!!!

  3. designfabulous says:

    I love this post! That farmhouse is fabulous!

  4. cara says:

    Next time – so stunned was I by the beauty of Louse Point (lousy name;-) that I left my camera in the car!

Got something to say? Please say it!

