Stone Street Secret

I KNOW it’s hard to believe, but I do occasionally leave Brooklyn for that little island across the river.

img_0137

One of my favorite places for lunch is closed-to-traffic Stone Street in the Financial District, where about a dozen restaurants put tables out on the cobblestones in warm weather.

Deep within the canyon of massive buildings and hard to find (I invariably get lost), the small scale of Stone Street — an intact row of Federal and Greek Revival townhouses, built soon after the Great Fire of 1835 destroyed most of the area — gives it the quality of a well-kept secret. A marvel of architectural survival in the face of unrelenting commercial pressure, the street still retains the curve it had in the mid-17th century, when it was first paved.

Stone Street is a madhouse from noon to 2, so come late, and don’t expect food to be much more than adequate. I like Smorgas Chef, a Scandinavian chain; there are also pubs like Brouwers, Ulysses, and the Stone Street Tavern, and decent pizza at Adrienne’s.

Remember Stone Street (it’s also lively at night) when you have out-of-town visitors; I also like to surprise native New Yorkers who even don’t know it exists.

img_0138

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in MANHATTAN and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stone Street Secret

  1. em says:

    OK, you’ve got me! I am a native New Yorker and have never been to/heard of Stone Street! I will have to check it out : )

  2. ErayB says:

    My soon to be son-in-law Ben works in lower Manhattan and when I sent him the link to your Stone Street article he wrote the following:

    “Ooooh, yes! Love me some Stone Street. My favorite place is Adrienne’s – an amazing old, style thin crust pizza place.”

    Next you will have to tell your readers about Campbell Hall — another “Cara find!” Hope you are no longer homeless – good luck!

  3. cara says:

    Campbell Hall? Should I know it?

  4. El Guapo says:

    Native NY’ers don’t know about it because until the late 90’s it was like a dirty alley – no bars, no restaurants. The cobblestone street is new as well. The building outsides are all great old structures, but the insides are all circa 2000+

  5. Randy Russell says:

    My ancestor, Wessel Evertsen, lived on the north side of Stone Street near Mill Lane. According to the 1660 Castello Plan, he built the house of Asser Levy between that corner and his house. Wessel was a Sloop Captain, and Asser was one of the foremost leaders of the first Jewish settlers in New Amsterdam. I see the charm of that time has been somewhat retained, and has not been overtaken by highrises such as has occurred to the house of another of my ancestors, Cornelis Van Tienhoven (although the continued presence of any structure alluding to his notorious memory might have seemed too much for which to hope). I believe Pine St. may have carried Cornelis’ surname long ago.

Got something to say? Please say it!

