All a Beach House Should Be

p1020707

A FEW weekends ago, my sister and I enjoyed the loan of a sun-filled mid-century house in Sag Harbor.  It was a perfect weekend at the beach.  Never mind that it was mid-winter. And we never actually got to the beach.

p1020711

We opened a bottle of wine (<–key!), made a fire in the fireplace, and sat contentedly reading, glancing up occasionally to look through floor-to-ceiling windows over an open, grassy field to the water, not another house in sight.

p1020723

p1020712

No small part of my pleasure was the stylish but low-key decor  (the owners are an architect and a photographer/stylist) from sources ranging from Design Within Reach to local barn sales.

The white walls and wide-ranging mix of styles and textures will inspire me when I get to decorating my own beach house (very soon, I hope!)

p1020719

p1020732

p1020727

The house was built in 1962 in the style of Cliff May, father of the California modern ranch house.

p1020714

It’s for rent any time, year round.  Oh, there’s a pool.

162492_0162492_2

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in INTERIOR DESIGN, LONG ISLAND, PROPERTIES FOR RENT and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to All a Beach House Should Be

  1. Joe Kunkel says:

    This has me longing for a long weekend and a bottle of wine to share with my dear friend Cara! I imagine we’d light a few candles, talk about every topic under sun and moon (both legit and inappropriate) and share a lot of laughter til too late into the night, then wake up and enjoy the real NY bagels and lox we would have thoughtfully brought with us. Ok so I’m not there, but it’s fun to imagine!

  2. JC says:

    What a lovely place! The light is incredible, especially off those bright white walls and floors. And I love the breezily elegant decor.

  3. Melissa says:

    All white floors and walls sometimes bother me, but it works well in that house. Glad you had a great time!

Got something to say? Please say it!

