My Country Casa

IN AN EFFORT TO HELP FILL THE VOID left by Cottage Living, here are some pictures of my place in the sticks, 9 miles outside Red Hook, N.Y.

Spring is on the way!

img_8713168_6863169_6914170_7082img_8613img_8622img_8623img_8624img_8257

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in GARDENS & GARDENING, HUDSON VALLEY, INTERIOR DESIGN. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My Country Casa

  1. Melissa says:

    Ooohhhh, a tin ceiling!
    Open space!
    I really need to get out of NYC now.

  2. Ellen says:

    Cara,
    What a gem! How long did it take you to get it looking so good? Hey, you should have your own magazine…I’d buy it. The setting of my house in East Quogue looks very similar to yours, although it looks like you actually attend to yours. The next time you’re out this way, stop by. I’d love to get some good ideas.

  3. cara says:

    Oh, 5 or 6 years! I started this blog in December, so no one knows it yet, but I’m a mad keen gardener as well as old-house fanatic.
    Come spring and summer, there will be LOTS of garden-related posts. Yes, I attend to it, as well as my Brooklyn garden – and don’t even consider it work! Thanks for your comment and invitation, Ellen.

  4. Carolyn says:

    How lovely!
    Say, Cara, can you recommend a b&b or hotel that’s under $100 in the Hudson Valley?

  5. cara says:

    hi Carolyn, I haven’t personally experienced any B&Bs or hotels in the area, but Bard College has a comprehensive list of them at http://www.bard.edu/admission/visiting/accommodations.shtml. Anyone else have a suggestion?

  6. And you can’t even send this to Country Home anymore. It is wonderful! I;ve decided the field editors need to start their own online mag!

  7. cara says:

    Yes – called Rejected Homes!?

  8. JC says:

    What a beautiful place! I especially love the tin ceiling, the china cabinet, the shiny new stove, and those kitties! Are they wild, or yours?

  9. cara says:

    Thanks, JC, and no, the cats are not wild! They’re my daughter’s – they grew up in NYC, but love the country.

  10. Caren Rosenthal says:

    Anyone out there wondering why I’m so thrilled to have Cara as my new across-the-street neighbor???

  11. annika says:

    Is this architectural style popular in the area? Is it dutch? The interior and garden are nice too.

  12. cara says:

    hi, Annika. It’s just a cabin in the woods that started out in the 1930s as a single room (we found newspaper from 1936 stuffed in the wall for insulation) and was gradually added onto over the years. I don’t think it’s any architectural style in particular – definitely not Dutch. Glad you like it!

Got something to say? Please say it!

