1840 house + 50 acres = $165K

19th c. farmhouse on a quiet road in Schoharie County, N.Y.

TWO WEEKS ON THE MARKET: 19th c. farmhouse in Schoharie County

What do you do when you can’t sleep?  I take my laptop into bed and search the Internet for old houses on the market (you could have guessed that).

Look what I found last night: a gray-and-red 1840 farmhouse on 50 acres, on a quiet road with two ponds and a far-reaching view of rolling hills.

It’s in Gilboa, N.Y. , half an hour west of the Rip Van Winkle bridge — three hours from Manhattan’s Upper West Side, 3-1/2 from Brooklyn — and “over the mountain” from the Windham ski area.

The listing agent, Claudia Zucker of Living Structures Real Estate, says there’s not a lot of original interior detail, but maybe you can live with that.  Overall condition is good.  Taxes are around $2,000/year (for all that property!)

Stay tuned for more pictures, here and on the MLS site.  It’s been on the market only two weeks. If it’s as good as it looks, it won’t be there long.

What would YOU do with fifty (50) acres?!?

About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in CATSKILLS, PROPERTIES FOR SALE and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 1840 house + 50 acres = $165K

  1. Melissa says:

    Farm, yoga retreat, artist colony…Living off the grid?

  2. Melissa says:

    The link you posted isn’t working, and neither was the one on the Living Structures website. I called them and got this link: http://greenemls.rapmls.com/scripts/mgrqispi.dll?APPNAME=Columbia&PRGNAME=MLSPropertyDetail&ARGUMENTS=-N339659266,-N43395,-N,-A,-N3064373

    I saw the interior and OMG, I UNDERSTAND WHY the property is priced so low.

    I can’t begin to explain how much updating this house needs.

    I’ll just start with the ONLY bathroom for this 5 bedroom house located off the kitchen and end with ugly baseboard heating, old, tacky wallpaper, and what looks like sheetmetal covering part of a wall in the livingroom(?).

    And I think I see a drop ceiling!

    I WON’T live with that.

    (((Shudder)))

  3. cara says:

    Oh, all that can be fixed (she said breezily) – it’s just a matter of money;-)
    Anyway, maybe the price is for the 50 acres and the house is just thrown in. Thanks for correcting the link, Melissa.

  4. Melissa says:

    That’s funny.

    Yes, this probably isn’t the house for someone needing a place to live right away.

    That’s a really low price for 50 acres; a little further south and $165K only gets you land, 15 acres if you’re lucky.

    They dropped the asking price to $155K.

    This could be highly advantageous for the right person.

  5. Sara says:

    My parents live up the road from this place and it’s a dump. Gilboa is a sad place – the depression/recession hit it in about 1980 and never left. Do a better turn for your readers and check out places in the village of Schoharie, another depressed Catskills town, albeit one with a pizza place.

  6. cara says:

    Thanks for the real-life feedback, Sara. I hope I made it clear in the post that I hadn’t checked out the place personally (a bit far to travel from NYC for a blog post). Maybe I’ll get to Schoharie sometime this summer – I want to go to Renssalaerville and I think they’re vaguely in the same direction.

  7. abigail says:

    What would the price be without the houses? ( its for a school project)

  8. cara says:

    I don’t know, Abigail. Try calling the real estate agent mentioned in the post.

Got something to say? Please say it!

