Why I Love Philadelphia, Part 1

139_3974

PHILLY HAS SOME 2,400 MURALS livening up the blank sides of buildings throughout the city.  Some of them are really gorgeous. They add so much color to the streetscape, especially in winter. Every time I see one, I think, “Why can’t New York do something like this?

Below: ‘Four Seasons’ series, Queen Village/Bella Vista21-lanza-park 139_3972139_3971dsc02225


About cara

I blog for fun here at casaCARA, and write about architecture, interiors, gardens and travel for many national magazines and websites. My recently published posts and articles can be found here: https://casacara.wordpress.com/recent-articles/
This entry was posted in PHILADELPHIA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why I Love Philadelphia, Part 1

  1. Anne Renda says:

    These murals are great! It took me a second to get the Dalmatian as I thought it was an abstract at first.
    I wonder how we could get them also! Much nicer than graffiti and still allows artistic expression. You make Philly more interesting – worth another visit.
    I really enjoyed the previous article also because I would like to explore that area and loved the houses you found. Very nice and interesting blog.

  2. cara says:

    Philly IS fascinating – and right in NYC’s own backyard, so to speak. Thanks for your comments, Anne. Keep coming back!

  3. Arlene Waxenberg Erenberg says:

    Cara,
    Great blog!!

  4. Hilary Jay says:

    I love the blog, but there are SO many more reasons to love Philadelphia, than our spectacular assemblage of murals. It’s a living museum of 300 years of architectural history. There are whacky places like the Mutter Museum, a macabre collection of medical and anatomical oddities; Isaiah’s South Street Garden of mosaic glass shards, painted ceramics, cast-offs and give-aways; the Mummer’s Museum full of splendiferous costumes from endless New Years Day parades. Shopping is fab, but I won’t get into it, and the food–the food: Italian in South Philly, Chinese in (you guessed it) Chinatown, the Reading Terminal Market (the lone largest single span architectural archway in the country.) We have world class culture like the Philadelphia Museum of Art, the Barnes Collection, theatre, orchestra and opera. And let’s not forget the annual DesignPhiladelphia, the largest design event of its kind in America, taking place in conjunction with National Design Week in October 2009. (Yes, a little shameless advertising on my part.) There are so many great designers and artists and interesting people living in Philadelphia for these reasons and more. Come, stay, play. You’re welcome!

  5. cara says:

    Thanks for your comment, Hilary. I couldn’t agree more that Philly has a WHOLE lot to offer, but you’ll note my post was titled “Why I Love Philadelphia, Part 1,” emphasis on the “1.” Stay tuned for parts 2, 3, 4, etc. I am going to stick to my theme, more or less, which is interesting old houses (both historic house museums, of which Philly has about a zillion) and on the market (of which it also has quite a few). I think I can work in Isaiah and DesignPhiladelphia, but I’ll be leaving the Mutters, the Mummers, and the food to another blog;-)

Got something to say? Please say it!

