ARTIST PAULA HAYES, Brooklyn-based creator of fantastical landscapes large and small (some so small they can be worn as necklaces), is speaking this Sunday, Feb. 14th, at Madoo Conservancy in East Hampton, on what sounds to me like a wonderful winter subject: terrariums.


Hayes’s star has been rising since she first began getting attention for her blobby silicone planters. A year-and-a-half ago, there was a New York Times article exploring the evolution of her own garden in the backyard of a Boerum Hill brownstone.

In recent years, Hayes has been building delicate horticultural universes, often including crystals, in biomorphically shaped, handblown glass vessels. She had a show last summer at the Marianne Boesky gallery in Chelsea, where giant versions were displayed on pedestals and smaller ones grouped in a rooftop array.

I don’t expect Hayes’s Sunday lecture will be a homey how-to on making terrariums as a hobby to get us through the winter [she wrote as she watched the snow continue to steadily fall...] But I’ve been thinking terrariums myself and wanting to try my hand at making one. I have an old pickle jar under the sink and a bag of potting soil at the ready.

With these for inspiration, maybe I’ll do it.